Joy in the midst of darkness

Waking up this morning left me with lingering thoughts of wanting to just curl back up in bed, drink my coffee, and read a good book…for it was overcast, rainy, and chilly; not the typical African morning.

So, after the mental prodding that went on in my head I finally arose and got ready for work. I was feeling sluggish all day, wishing I was home, until an unexpected surprise awaited me. I had received a package from my dear friend Kathyrn. I immediately ripped it open, like a child anticipating a Christmas gift. I was so excited to see the contents inside! From that point on, my day took on a whole new meaning.

I know I have said this before, but it deserves repeating…there is nothing like receiving a package in the mail! Until you live far away from home, in a place where none of the modern conveniences are available, you won’t quite be able to understand the joy that goes along with this small gesture of giving. I mean, when was the last time you got excited about receiving a tube of mascara, coffee, and some unmentionable girly items???

I’ll say it till I’m blue in the face….its the small things in life!!!!! The next time you are enjoying a tall pumpkin spice latte or a mochachino at your local wateringhole, take a moment and savor it all in……if not for yourself, please do it for me. I can settle to live vicariously through all of you!!!!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

2 responses to “Joy in the midst of darkness

Leave a Reply

