Unfortunate Extented Stay

Well, I am still here in J’burg…I was supposed to return home to Maun yesterday, but ran into some problems.

1. We broke down half way from CapeTown to J’burg…in the middle of nowhere. My radiator belt broke, causing the waterhose to burst. We had to get towed 40K’s to a small town where of course they did not have the parts, but made a temporary solution till I reached J’burg. 3 hours later, and $200 we were back on the road.

2. When we arrived in J’burg (at 1:30 am) we planned on staying the next day to rest…no rest for us! My car was broken into and they attempted to steal it. One more minute and the car would have been gone. They broke both doors and jammed took out the ignition switch. They took some stuff in the car (including my ipod) and made a quick get-a-way. We had to call a locksmith to change the whole door, and now I can ony start my car with a screwdriver. Because my car is an import from Japan, South Africa does not have the parts for it here. I am going to have to order the part from Japan, and hope for the best.

It was pretty devasting, but thank God we are safe and material things are replaceable. We are beginning to call this vacation the Money Pit as it is sucking the life out of us. The Walkers also had car problems (the brakes) so they have been stuck here as well. At least we can now all drive back home together…whenever the time comes.

TIA! This has been a big one, but I am coping relatively well. God will provide!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

2 responses to “Unfortunate Extented Stay

  • alece

    oh my cow. so sorry, friend. let us know if we can help somehow.

  • sarah

    Oh man, that just stinks! Praise God you are all okay but bummer about the car and the i-pod. šŸ˜¦ Let me know if maybe we can help from this side with a part or a new ipod. šŸ™‚ Hugs girl….you’ll rise above this!

Leave a Reply

