A blessed morning

This morning I was given a God-moment treat.  As I was leaving for work, I was approached by the two maids at our house.  They are both older Botswana women and speak pretty broken English.  I was getting into my car when they came up and asked me for a favor.  I could tell they were nervous and shy to ask me, but it was cute.  The older one asked me if they could have a Bible.  I had a box of Setswana Bibles in my car for outreach, and in order to make room in my car for our trip to Namibia I had taken the box out and put it in my house.  When they came in to clean, they must have noticed the box full of Bibles.  Sooooo, they cautiously asked me for one and of coarse I was thrilled!  To see the look on their faces when I told them, “yes” was priceless.  They were so happy and both hugged me.  To quote them, “I am so happy to read the Bible.”  “I never have one for me.”  It was a bonding moment for us.

It was a small token, and a small moment…but one that will remain with me forever!   

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

2 responses to “A blessed morning

Leave a Reply

