Blogging…the truth behind the madness

So, this past weekend I was introduced to how crazy blogging has truly become.  For me, it was a means to an end…a way to reach some of my supporters who were having difficulties downloading and opening my monthly newsletters.  Ok: that’s how it started, but now its become a bit more than that.  I do admit, I find myself writing about things I would never mention in my newsletters, ie: circus life, chips n salsa etc.  Have I become “one of them?”

Anyways, back to the scene of the crime.  Alece decided to have a “comment” war with Niel on what type of dog they would get: big vs medium.  Niel wanted a big and Alece wanted a medium sized.  One of her bloggers suggested they have a contest to see who could get the most comments on their blogsite, and that person could choose the size.  Sounded fun and innocent….not so!

Alece had around 200 comments when Niel had maybe 20.  The staff decided to help Niel out a bit, and Friday night we all got online and started commenting for him.  Let me remind you one thing: Africa internet is NOT as fast as America’s internet.  Even when you think your internet is slow, its still not as slow as ours here.  We found that out by sheer numbers.  

As soon as Alece’s bloggers found out we were online, commenting for Niel, they went to war. Unfortunately, their weapons were too much for us.  In the time it took  4 of us to post one comment, 1 person in the states could post about 10 comments. (Just to give you an example of the speed I was mentioning) Needless to say, they caught up to our UNBELIEVABLE 585 comments in less than 2 hours.  We realized then that we were out of our league and threw in the towel.  (Not to mention it was already 1am our time and only 6pm their time)  

All this to say that we then began a conversation on the craziness of blogging!  There are serious bloggers out there, and even though I thought I blogged quite frequently, I realised I am an only an amatuer blogger. Do I want to join the status of professional blogger?  Am I willing to give what it takes?  Do I like spending my Friday nights on a computer?

Here’s the conclusion: I think I’m happy being connected to the “outside” world, and still have some internet friends too.  I love both worlds, but I need a balance.  Will I be doing anymore all nighters on the blogging scene? ABSOLUTELY NOT!  That really took a lot out of me, and I think I am ready to retire from that type of blogging madness.  hehehe  Don’t get me wrong, I love to blog.  Just in moderation.  

I end this topic on this thought:  to blog or not to blog…that is the question?!?  (our world has changed a lot in the past century, hasn’t it?)

P.S. Any of Alece’s blogging friends: I still love you!

P.S.S.  Those of you involved in the comment war:  you must admit our comments were soooo much more creative.  I mean come on,  we had big names like Snoop Dog, Randy Jackson, Ryan Seacrest, The entire cast of 101 Dalmations, Snoopy (just to name a few) drop by.  Now thats impressive! 

P.S.S.S. Check out the Anti-blogger for those incredible comments if you’re intrigued.

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

7 responses to “Blogging…the truth behind the madness

Leave a Reply

