Desperation

My home church, Res LIfe, is hosting the youth conference, Desperation, this weekend.  My mom works at the church, and she asked me if I wanted to come help and volunteer. How could I say no to that?  Today I was able to sit in on some of the worship time (which was awesome, I might add.)  Jared Anderson, who is one of the leaders of the band, is amazing. Its one thing to rock out to his CD’s driving to a village in the middle of nowhere in Botswana, but its a whole other ball game to hear them live.  Its one of the things I soooo missed in Africa…live worship! Needless to say, I was really blessed being able to enjoy some of the day and night listening and participating in the music.  

Seeing the youth jumping around, singing, and dancing reminded me of our youth group, Fire by Night, in Botswana.  We would sing and dance to music (CD’s) during our Friday night services.  It made me realize how blessed America is to have these huge conferences, concerts, speakers etc. available pretty much everywhere.  But, it also reminded me that God is the same everywhere we go.  Whether its in a huge youth conference or under a tent in the Kalahari Desert, His presence is wherever we are and call upon Him.  All the strobe lights, amps, musical instruments, stages, and sound effects are nice (don’t get me wrong; I love all that); but they’re not necessary.  Thats what’s so incredible!  You can experience God’s love through a loud, booming concert or the gentle whisper of the wind.  Awesome!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

One response to “Desperation

  • katie

    Fire by Night…reminds me of the time I called Marc useless. urgh, i’ll never live that down!

    There is nothing quite like corporate worship, it’s probably one of the things I miss most about being here. I don’t know Jared Anderson, I’ll have to check him out. I am a big Phil Wickham fan (okay, it might borderline an obsession…). miss you!

Leave a Reply

