All I want is a shower!

Today was one of those days!  We’ve all had them, I’m sure, so you can probably relate in some way or another…

Dave and I were the only ones working at the shelter today, which not only means more work, but constantly needing to be aware of everything.  That being said, one girl attacked another one (God only knows what that was about), leading to tears and bloodshed…another girl brought in drugs and we caught her with it in the bathroom…and another girls’ mind was so lost she was rambling on and on, making no sense what-so-ever the entire time she was there.  EXHAUSTING!  On top of all that, we still had all the daily to-do’s piled on.

While I was waiting for my bus to take the 30 minute trek back home, I thought, “All I want is a shower!”

The moment I walked in the door, I turned on the heater for the water. (We can’t just turn the faucet on here and get hot water.  It has to be heated up first, which takes about 20 minutes.) Usually my hot water runs out in the middle of the shower, so today I wasn’t in the mood for that. (I waited 45 minutes before getting in.)  

Needless to say that shower was the most glorious event of my day!  Like I said in the beginning…today was just one of those days!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

3 responses to “All I want is a shower!

  • Rebecca

    Wow hard stuff, sorry. I’m glad you got a warm shower even if you had to wait forever to get enough warm water. Thinking of you!

  • June Fillar

    Well, at least your not in the Philippines with Sandra Carroll who just arrived early November. Her shower is outside, the toilet doesn’t drain very well, and she has had some concern about what she is standing in! There’s always something to be thankful for. I know you’re thankful, just thought you’d be interested. And, you can pray for Sandra’s shower room.

  • alece

    i love when God shows up, even in things like a hot-till-you’re-done shower.

Leave a Reply

