Thanksgiving from afar

There will be no turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing or pumpkin pie.  There will be no Thanksgiving Day parades or watching the Lions (probably) loose.  No leftover turkey sandwiches or soup…. 

…but there’s one thing I have, and thats THANKS.

Thankful for my family, my friends, and my supporters.  Thankful that God protects me everywhere I travel. Thankful for the pillow under my head at night and the blankets that cover me.  Thankful for internet (when its working) to keep in contact with those whom I love.  I am thankful to be alive and healthy and living the life I was created for.  Thanksgiving from afar!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

4 responses to “Thanksgiving from afar

  • novice101

    Happy Thanksgiving to you! Mine is also from afar.

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. But I am always in the mood for gratefulness. Hope you don’t mind me joining in. Your president, Abraham Lincoln is so wise!

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    Gratefulness gives us contentment and peace of mind. These two qualities help reduce our stress level which helps greatly in keeping us healthy.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

  • Mom

    “It is a good thing to give thanks unto the Lord, and to sing praises unto His name, O most High.”
    Your thankful list is very touching. I thank God for you!!
    Love,
    Mom

  • alece

    did you still get to celebrate the day somehow?

    wish you could’ve been here.

  • moweezle

    I know…I heard all about the feast! No, I never got to have anything 😦 Next year!

Leave a Reply

