A Charlie Brown Chrismukkah

dscf1260You might have heard of the Charlie Brown Christmas, but this year I’m sportin the Charlie Brown Chrismukkah.  Since I’ll be spending my holidays here this year, I want to maintain my Christmas traditions along with joining in with Chanukah, which is celebrated in Israel. 

Because I am on a small budget, I must enjoy the festivities on a lesser scale.  I found this tree at a Russian shop for only 20 shekels and the Chanukiah for 30 shekels at the Shuk (the Israeli market).  (A total of about $15 US) The tree totally reminds me of the Charlie Brown tree, but I’m totally all about it!  I think it suits my first experience celebrating Chrismukkah, and adds a bit of character to my new apartment.

So, while I am missing my family, Christmas movies, Christmas cookies, shopping, stockings, decorating trees, and all that comes with Christmas in The States this year, I am looking at the bright side….I get to celebrate 2 holidays for a total of 9 days instead of just 1.  

Merry Chrismukkah!!!!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

2 responses to “A Charlie Brown Chrismukkah

Leave a Reply

