Mediterranean Monday: Cyprus

cyprus21Since I’m here in Cyprus until tomorrow, I thought I would write about it for my Med. Monday topic.  Technically, it is a Mediterranean Country, so it fits in nicely.  

From Tel Aviv to Larnaca, it is only a 50 minute flight.  Cyprus is a small island right off the coast of Israel, and it is a popular destination for Israeli’s to go on holiday. When my nephew found out I was going to Cyprus he asked me, “What will you do there for  5 days on an island?”  He’s been watching too much Survivor!

I few into Larnaca, on the south-east coast of the country, but actually stayed in Nicosia, which is the capitol.  Nicosia is located in the middle of the country, about a 30 minute drive from the airport.  

There are many differences from Tel Aviv, one being that pretty much everyone speaks English.  I didn’t have to worry about the language barrier at all.  In Tel Aviv people walk everywhere, compared to Nicosia where no one really walks.  Many times I was the only one walking, which I didn’t mind at all.  Cyprus uses the Euro, which makes everything so expensive (and I thought living in TA was expensive!) My daily trip to Starbucks (yes, I did find one there) cost me about 5 Euros for a grande, which is more than a grande in the states cost.  Sometimes its just worth it though!

One thing that is similar is the night life.  Cypriots are night owls, as are Israeli’s.  It must be a Mediterranean thing, cuz restaurants don’t even open till 8pm here.  

The interesting thing about Cyprus is that 30% is Turkey’s land and 70% is Greece’s.  It might not sound like a lot, but for a country of only about 700,000 it ends up being a large area.  The Turkish border runs right into Nicosia, so I got to go and check it out for myself.  Not going into a whole political speel, but its not exactly a wanted situation (on both sides)

Overall, it was a nice 5 days…short but sweet.  I got some rest, got to see some sights, and meet some new people. Thanks to my friend, Demus, I even stayed at his house for free!  What a blessing that is.  Next time I come to Cyprus though, I will go to Paphos and check out all the historical sites…but thats another visa trip!

P.S.  I heard today that ‘supposedly’ the ancient city of gold, Atlantis, is located under the island of Cyprus and scientists/archeologists are discovering parts of it as we speak……but thats just the word on the street here 🙂

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

5 responses to “Mediterranean Monday: Cyprus

  • annie

    Ha! cool! Lots of things I didn’t know about Cyprus! Do you have pictures?

  • annie

    Watching the news on the results of Israel’s voting. What is the outlook in Israel? Which is likely to win, and what does either party mean (in your opinion) for the outcome of Israeli and international politics?

  • moweezle

    WEll, it looks like Tzipi won, but its still too close to count. All the soldiers votes have to be counted and that could change it too. Either way, I’m not a huge fan of either, but if I could vote, I would prob. vote for her. As far as US relations, she would be the best. Bibi and Obama might clash something fierce 🙂

  • Jared

    I just found this… I may incorporate your thoughts in my research. I’m writing about the Greek Islands for the Ottoman paper (most important being Cyprus).
    How prescient you were about Bibi and Obama.

Leave a Reply

