Bring on the heat!

Today after Shabbat service I went down to the beach to do a little reading.  It is sunny outside, but still a bit chilly (only 18° C…64° F) I wore pants, a t-shirt and a sweatshirt with flip-flops.  As I was sitting there reading, I looked around me and saw all sorts of CRAZY people in bikini’s and swimsuits.  There were even some in the water!!!

There I was all bundled up in my blanket, not even very warm to tell the truth, and people were wearing practically nothing!  I remembered back to when I was younger, growing up in Michigan, when I actually was one of those CRAZY people.  It would hit the 60’s and we’d be laying out, trying to get some sun.  Man, how times have changed.  I guess living in tropical and desert areas for the past 8 years has thinned my blood beyond recognition.  I barely see that Michigan girl at all…she is practically non-existent.  If I’m gonna get in the water, or be laying out now it needs to AT LEAST  be in the 80’s, 90’s preferably.  I’m ready for the warmer weather….bring on the heat!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

4 responses to “Bring on the heat!

  • Tim

    Ahh Heat! Still way too cold for me here NY. At least we have no snow…….shhh…..I should probably say that very quitely. Enjoy the 60’s!

  • lovewillbringustogether

    i don’t want to cause you concern…. but it’s (wanting warm weather/being immune to ‘cold’) gonna get a lot worse as you continue growing ‘older’.

    Take it from one who’s way ‘ahead’ of you in that regard! 😉

    You may have the possibility to reverse it and become one of those ‘CRAZY’S’ again – if you practice it somewhat on a regular basis…

    Should you feel the ‘need’ that is 😉

    <B

  • Annie K

    Crazy thing here in the mountains of Oregon is that if it his 50°, everyone is in shorts and flips and the motorcycles are out in full force!

  • annie

    Yeah – I’ve been in MN for 8 years now … you’d think I’d be used to the cold, but … only somewhat. Laying out in 60 degree weather?!?!?!?! I’m not there. I’m with you. 80s or 90s.

Leave a Reply

