Book Review: The Broker

brokerAnother John Grisham book…another success!  I believe I have reviewed a Grisham book before, but I will repeat this anyways…. I love John Grisham books! This one was no exception.

Its about a shady ex-lawyer/lobbyist in Washington who got mixed up in some illegal dealings and went to prison. He was pardoned by the president on his last day in office, only to be put back out into the world in order to be killed by the opposition.  He was re-located to Italy, where it all begins.

What I loved about this book, mostly, was that of all the groups of governments after him, the Israeli’s were the front-runners.  There are snipets which took place right here in Tel Aviv, and streets/places are mentioned that I happen to live right next to.  That was too cool! 

I don’t want to give away the book, in case you want to read it. (And I do recommend that you do!)  If you’re a Grisham fan, as I am, you won’t be disappointed in this quick-read… even if the ending is a bit abrupt and leaves you questioning the future; but then again, most of them do.

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

4 responses to “Book Review: The Broker

  • Mom

    I’ll have to read some of his books when I have some extra reading time. Is Witness his book? The one about the girl who is a missionary in Brazil and they’re trying to find her because she has that inheritance? or maybe it’s Testimony. I know I liked that book but now I can’t remember the ending.

  • Dad

    I just checked out The Shack from the library.

  • annie

    Cool! Great review. I’ve never read a Grisham book. I don’t usually get into contemporary fiction. But … perhaps I will someday! You’ve intrigued me!

  • alece

    i love grisham. yesterday i just finished his newest. if you can get your hands on “the associate”, it’s a great read.

Leave a Reply

