What’s wrong with this picture???

According to my stats page, I get over 100 views per day on my blog…

…yet, most days I’m lucky to get 1 or 2 comments per post.

Is what I write about really that boring, or do you just have nothing to say???

You can be completely honest with me. Why doesn’t the majority of my readers leave a comment (that’s you if you’re reading this)???? I am just curious…

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

21 responses to “What’s wrong with this picture???

  • charlie Maes

    well, I’ll have to say that there not boring. I definatly enjoy reading them, well, what I’ve read so far atleast. I guess I’m just kind of guilty of being one of those people who forgets feed back matters to people. I’m sorry for being a forgetful friend (we are friends, right?)
    I promise to try harded!

  • Teri

    Maureen, I find everything you post very fascinating. I am so blessed that you are so candid and so open. It’s great that you are following after our Lord and having such an adventure. My life is somewhat fast-paced and I take a lot in and don’t spit out a lot as a general rule. I am praying for you about your vision regarding the Sunshine sites. I will continue to hold that before the Lord. Blessings to you.

  • Brett

    Chances are most people like hearing/reading about your adventures but don’t have anything to say. They are living their lives vicariously through you!

  • Pam Jones

    Hey, you know, I think the answer is that our lives are so mundane compared to yours, that we think, she would never want to hear back from us…LOL!

  • Sarah W

    I totally read, but don’t always comment because it seems like when I do, that’s when the internet cuts out and doesn’t publish my comment! 😦 I hear you though….I have about the same amount of hits on my xanga, but lucky if I get a comment too…….it’s okay though, my journal is more for me than anything. 🙂

  • Marc

    I totally agree with you Mo. I have a decent amount of readers (or at least visits) but no comments… nearly ever.

  • Marc

    by the way… what kind of camera/lens’ do you have? you can email me if you want. i just got a new camera.

  • ksa

    I am sorry I am not nearly as faithful when it comes to leaving comments as you are. You are likely the most consistent comment leaver on my blog, and you have never even met me. But I understand the frustration and will try to give more feedback. I find what you write interesting as it is a window for me to another part of this wonderful world.

  • Rishelle

    Haha, that is so funny that you pointed the lack of comments out. How straight forward of you. Personally I rarely comment because I read your page from my phone during class so it is hard to get away with writing messages/texts/emails :). You seem to be having a wonderful experience and I look forward to your future posts.

  • Tim

    I try to comment on most of them, but I am guilty of not always leaving them. I am actually not even sure why I don’t comment. It is definately not boring. I look forward to your stories eveyday. I will make a better effort.

  • moweezle

    Thanks for all the feedback! I totally understand that not everyone feels like they have anything to say, but believe me…I love hearing any comments you have!!! (and they are not mundane to me at all)

    Rishelle: You crack me up!!! Reading from your phone in class…I miss you girl! When are you gonna come to Israel and visit??? We could go shopping for 200 people again if you want 🙂

  • Mom

    I try sometimes. Many of us would rather read than write! 100 hits a day? That should bring you satisfaction right there. And accept by faith that your readers are out there, just not commenters.

  • Mom

    Oops… commentators

  • moweezle

    Mom, you’re right! 🙂 I should stop complaining and just write!

  • annie

    HA! You pulled them out with that post, Mo! I’m one of the ‘nearly always comment’ folks, so … I’m right with you on wondering the same thing about my own blog. Lately I’ve gotten between 2-4 comments per post. It was up in the 20s at least at one point in time. Ah well. Different season, different posts; God knows. I’ve tended to ignore the computer lately (thus I’m just getting to your latest 10 posts) so maybe it’s all for the best. 🙂

  • lovewillbringustogether

    i know at my own blog i always try to ensure i reply to every comment left ( Hey – my blog is my attempt at relationship with people and for relationships to work they have to work both ways).

    The catch is: when you build up relationships with more and more people (some will ‘stay’ some will come then go) it gets harder and harder to give of your time answering them all back and the relationships ‘suffer’ as a result.

    Finding the right balance is tricky.

    On a more ‘lateral’ note if you blog is like mine you may need to be thankful you don’t get more readers commenting…

    I daily have the search term ‘speedo boys’ or ‘boys in speedos’ as being the ways people have found my blog! 😯 i REALLY don’t wish to hear from those readers.

    Most of my viewers are not looking for anything i have to say but what their desires cause them to search google for.

    I hope most of your readers are visiting for the RIGHT reasons!

    <B

  • Kevin Alan Wells

    Hi, Maureen.

    I just found your site through IntenseDebate, and am looking forward to experiencing some of your journey through the eyes of this blog. From what I see already, I like your pluck. And devotion.

    Regarding your question about comments, your experience is actually right on target — statistically on average, 1% of a blog’s readers post comments.

    Glad for your Israel Easter,
    Kevin

  • Damon

    I haven’t commented because I just found your blog via Pete Wilson’s blog – it caught my eye because of your current location. I was there for 10 days back in 2007, so a lot of your pictures are still very familiar and fresh. I look forward to keeping up with your adventure!

    Blessings,

    DeS

  • Warren Baldwin

    This is my first time here. I linked here from pathfromtheheadtotheheart this morning. I have read a number of your comments (and enjoy them) on that site so I thought I’d link over here. I was going to comment on an earlier post but thought I’d read more. Then, when I read this post about so few people commenting, I was convicted!

    I’ve read most of your posts down to this one. Very interesting. I have thought I would like to go to the Middle East and work for peace. And you are doing it in a soup kitchen! I can’t imagine a better place to start, on the street with the people, filling a person’s most basic need: food to eat.

    I’ll be a follower of your blog now. I wish wordpress had one of the “following” gadgets. I don’t twitter (I saw your invitation above) but I do FB.

    Anyway, God bless.

    wb

    • moweezle

      Thanks so much Warren for reading my blog today! 🙂 I think if you go to the top of the page and under Blog Info you can subscribe to the blog…its kinda like the following for blogger sites. (i think). I’ll definitely head over to yours too!

Leave a Reply

