Fearless…or something like it.

I was told today that I was fearless.  I’ve never thought of myself in that way, because I definitely have areas of fear; but my attitude towards fear is…. ‘get over it’. (Sorry, if thats not the mushy-gushy sensitive approach.) Yes, there are things that make me nervous in life (crocs and sharks) but if given the opportunity I would dive in a shark cage or take a boat ride in a croc infested river….oh, already did that.  

Anyways, I haven’t bungee jumped or sky-dived (yet) but I have canopy glided (I think thats what you call it) in both Brasil and South Africa.  It was such a blast, and zip cording throughout the mountains and trees was so beautiful and breathtaking. If you ever have the chance to do it, I highly recommend it….

gettingready helmet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

air

Soooo, here’s the question: what have you done that is fearless??? What would you like to do, but fear has kept you from doing it???

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

7 responses to “Fearless…or something like it.

  • Joseph

    Zip line is wicked fun…we did it in Hawaii a couple of years ago and loved it.

    Last year in Costa Rica we rafted a class 4 river that went through a rain forest…it was very hairy at times but way to much fun….only concerns were occasional dangling snakes and alligators in the rivers slow spots..we all survived and still talk about it being one of the funnest things we have ever done.

    Sky diving is a possible…maybe….I think I want to do it but I have not quite figured that out yet..on the ground it sounds awesome!

    I would also like to take the jet boat trip in New Zealand….Shotover …you fly up a narrow river with the cliff sides just inches from the boat…that would be a no-brainer and done deal if I get to NZ..
    here is the video I have tabbed for it..

  • marc

    i’d have to say i haven’t really done anything fearless… at least that i can think of. i do however want to sky dive and bungee jump…

    actually i guess i did do something kind of fearless. when i was in durban last year i went shark diving and that was pretty cool. granted i was in a fiberglass container but it was still cool being nearly face to face with sharks.

  • annie

    Not much fearless here. I’d like to think I am fearless, but … daredevil stuff (ok, so walking on the high log on a ropes course shut me down) isn’t really my cup of tea most of the time. I don’t know. Maybe I haven’t found my niche. 😀

  • alece

    i did the canopy thing in alaska… SO GREAT! i did a bungee swing in cape town that scared the crap out of me. but it made me feel so proud of myself for doing it. [remind me to tell you the story of that blog post…] i’ve white water rafted the zambezi river (even though i hate the water and can’t swim), summited a fourteener in colorado (asthma, throwing up blood, and all), i’ve spent a decade in africa (does that count?!), and i’m currently making some decisions that are very scary to me. i choose hard. just like i’ve always done. which amazes even me.

    • moweezle

      u are BEYOND fearless!!!! And um, yes…living in Africa surely counts! Most of my fearless moments stem from there, but with only a fraction of the time you have been. Now, I just have to hear that bungee swing story!!! Also, you know better than I do that choices we have to make are even more difficult than jumping off some cliff. Love you!

  • Tim

    Hmm….fearless…..I guess the only thing I can think of is deciding to have children. There is so much I feel I need to protect them from, realizing I can’t control everything is the “scariest” part. Things I would like to try….getting a tattoo, or skydiving. Fear has definately kept me from doing both.

Leave a Reply

