Book Review: The Gabriel Allon Series

EaDiv I have found a new series of books that I absolutely LOVE!!! Daniel Silva is the author of a series of books about a former Israeli Secret Service Officer, who now poses as an art restorer.  Ok, I say former  Secret Service Officer, but all the books are about him getting sucked back in that world to work again for the Israeli’s.

I read the first one, The English Assassin, my first day in Rhodes while it was rainy/stormy, and I read the entire book that day.  I couldn’t put it down.  I just finished A Death in Vienna the other day, and can’t wait for the next one.  I only have 3 of the books in the series, but I will be on the lookout for more.  

If you understand my passion for all things spy and espionage, you will get my obsession with these books.  Not to mention, he is a fantastic writer and the books take you all over the world to solve the crime.  I love how he incorporates past events (aka Holocaust or the bombing of the Olympic Israeli team) into the present day dilemma.  And what I really love is when parts of the book take place right here in Israel, 2 streets down from where I live, shops and cafe’s I frequent.  Thats just the best!

If any of you are like me, and love spy books, thrillers, and world-wide suspense, you must pick up one of his books.  I am telling you, you won’t be able to put it down!  I am starting on the next one I have, Prince of Fire, and I see that he now has a brand new one coming out in July! Awesome!!!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

4 responses to “Book Review: The Gabriel Allon Series

  • Katherine

    How cool! It’s so nice to enjoy a good book, especially on a rainy day! 🙂 And that makes it even better when he talks about the places that you go to!

  • Joseph

    I will pass along to my wife….she loves a good spy novel. A since she can download them on the Kindle…she is in!

  • mom

    Well, you got me into the Botswana series so maybe I’ll have to try these. I’ll check to see if they have it at the library when I find some time to read again.

  • annie

    Great! I love a good book recommendation. Sent it along to my friend as well who LOVES a good spy novel . 🙂

Leave a Reply

