The company you keep

“They” say you can tell a lot about someone by the company they keep.  I do agree with this, to an extent. I have quite a few different circle of friends, depending on where in the world they are located, but here in Israel I don’t really have a close circle of friends at all.

This happened to pop into my head the other day when I was walking down to my gym, and I ran into some ‘aquaintances’ on the way. A group of the Russian homeless guys, who frequent the soup kitchen, were just chillin on some of the benches in the shade. I stopped to say hello and had a brief limited conversation about the heat and such.

After, as I continued my way to the gym, I began thinking about our little encounter, which led me to this conclusion: The only people I really ever meet when I’m out and about are either homeless, refugees, or my landlord (who always seems to be lurking around).  Yes, its a big city, but no matter where I go, these seem to be the ones I run into…and they are the ones I actually stop and talk to.  

Though I would not really consider talking to them about the desires of my heart, I still end up spending more time talking to them than with others.  I think I’m starting to understand Matthew 9: 9-13 on more of a personal level.

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

6 responses to “The company you keep

  • chaim

    powerful passage. i want you to start frequenting ‘cup o joe’ more often. the one at gordon and dizengoff. it’s less than a 10 minute walk for you. i started hanging out there on a nearly daily basis and you get to meet the staff and the other regulars. it’s a great way to break through the busyness of tel aviv.

  • Joseph

    Interesting post.

    I have just the opposite problem. I live in a community tucked in Nashville where we run into people all the time. Especially with a wife who is a teacher. And worst of all when you do not want to 🙂

    Find the coffee shop…it is always a good source for creating that run in with friends.

  • alece

    i need to get better about that.

  • jessicalynnpressley

    Ha I had to giggle a bit about this one Mo. That awesome that you do take the time to talk to the homeless guys though. A lot of people wouldn’t do that. Maybe they would give a little wave or something, but you are adding something positive to their day by engaging with them.

  • Katherine

    That’s good Mo! I need to start treating those with love, especially the ones that i run into and don’t care to see!

  • annie

    I agree with Jessica up there. Perhaps your heart is with them more than it is with ‘friends.’ And perhaps this is exactly where it should be. (Although I understand the incredible value of close friends … but things happen for a reason, you know?)

Leave a Reply

