My online community

I’ve heard many people talk about online communities vs. real life communities vs. social networking communities etc. People blog about it, debate over it, and discuss whether your online community is as valuable as your in person community.  While it differs from person to person, let me tell you about mine:

I recently sent out an email about a personal prayer request and issue that I am facing at the moment, and I have been overwhelmed by the support and encouragement I received from my online community (emails, fb, twitter).  I do not have a strong support group where I live (for many obvious regional reasons), so I have come to depend on my online community. While I wish that I had a stronger community where I live, I would never discount my online community as just a “social networking tool’.  They are my friends. They are my family. They are my rock.

So, if you are one of those people that think of the online communities as an artificial, surface group of people, who only communicate in a non-personal way, THINK AGAIN!  And if you are part of my online community, let me just tell you this one thing: YOU ROCK!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

5 responses to “My online community

  • alece

    i couldn’t agree more.

    loving. praying.

  • Joseph

    Well said.

    I am lucky that I get to live in an area with both but I find it interesting that I share more and get better feedback from my online community.

    and by the way Mo, YOU ROCK! even if you are a Red Wings Fan 🙂

  • ksa

    Thanks for being part of my online community. Your frequent comments on my blog really brighten my day. It is important when you live so far away from friends and family to be able sto stay connected.

  • annie

    Not sure if the ‘non-online’ community is online … reading this … but …

    right on!

  • *~Michelle~*

    I have been blessed so many time with my online circle of friends. I have made real friendships with real people…..these friendships have proved themselves with the outpouring of love, prayers, and support that has gone beyond many of my “IRL” friends.

    Not sure what you need prayer for……but know that I will be praying for you.

    Peace~
    *~Michelle~*

Leave a Reply

