Pen Pals

Do you remember the days of Pen Pals??? 

I had a pen pall in 6th grade…actually it was my entire 6th grade class.  We were pen pals with another 6th grade classroom in Canada, and at the end of the year we went to their school for a day, and then they came to ours.  I can still remember getting mail from my pen pal, it was like the highlight of the day!!!

Well, guess what?!? I have a pen pal again!!! Yesterday, I got a package in the mail from my new friend, Kristi, who serves in South Africa.  We became friends through blogs, and she is one of those amazing people who still likes to use ‘snail mail’.  I love that about her, not too many people even send letters or cards in the mail anymore.

I have mentioned this before, when I lived in Africa, but I will say it again (and again, and again….)  There is just nothing like getting mail when you live far away from your family and friends!  It literally makes your whole day!!! Needless to say, Kristi made my day today!  Now I need to get going and send one back to her……

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

10 responses to “Pen Pals

  • Katherine

    Yes, pen pals are great! When I was in school, I had a pen pal from Hungary! So funny you wrote about this, the Lord has been reminding me to send you a card! :0 I’ll get it in the mail for you! Love you mO!

  • Joseph

    I would be someones Pen Pal but no one can read my hand writing….that is why I type 🙂

  • sioneve

    Receiving a letter in the letterbox is the best!
    I have had many pen pals over the years. One was unusual in that once she discovered that I wasn’t the race she assumed I was, she stopped communicating. That was a surprise for me.
    These days, I have rediscovered a couple of very old school friends on Facebook…but that is communication through email.
    I have always wondered what it would be like to communicate with a jail inmate. Then I chicken out.

  • ksa

    Way to go Kristi!!! Getting mail is one of the most exciting pick-me up’s in a persons day. I am glad you have a friend who is caring for you in this way.

  • rosieroyalty

    Pen Pals are fun 🙂 I remember having them when I was in school, and now I am starting to get some new ones so thats exciting all over again for me 🙂

    Your posts are amazing! I enjoy reading through them.

    Have a lovely day,
    Rosie

  • *~Michelle~*

    I don’t think we ever get too old to enjoy getting something in the mail!

    God bless great meaningful friendships……so special. 🙂

  • wrentham

    I love pen pals! I had a lot in the 80s through “snail mail”. Now I’m trying to get back into it!

    Wren 🙂

Leave a Reply

