Some light reading… UPDATED!

While most of you will be enjoying your summer vacations over yonder in the US of A, I will be here preparing for what will be a HUGE challenge in my life.  Many of you are aware of the visa issues I have been facing, and the numerous prayers I have been asking for.  I am announcing now that I have been accepted to study in order to acquire a student visa (YEAH!!!)  

This means much change for me and A LOT of hard work!  I will still be doing my mission work with the homeless and the Sudanese refugees, as well as taking classes, learning Arabic, and improving my Hebrew.  Its all for the greater purpose!

As the title of this blog mentions, I have some light reading to put in this summer before my courses actually begin:

  • Iran Between Two Revolutions, E. Abrahamian
  • The Old Social Classes and the Revolutionary Movements of Iraq, H. Batatu
  • G State and the Conflict in the Middle East, Ben-Dor
  • King Hussein and the Challenge of Arab Radicalism: Jordan, U. Dann
  • The Middle East: An Anthropological Approach, Dale Eickelman
  • A Peace to End All Peace, David Fromkin
  • The Interpretation of Cultures: Selected Essays, Clifford Geertz  Thanks 2 Judy Allen!!!!
  • Muslim Society, Ernest Gelner
  • A Mediterranean Society. 5 vols, S.D. Goitein
  • Arabic thought in the Liberal Age, Albert Hourani
  • An Economic History of the Middle East and North Africa, Charles Issawi  Thanks 2: The Betts Family!!!
  • The Arab Cold War 1958-1970, Malcolm H. Kerr
  • Syria and the French Mandate: The Politics of Arab Nationalism, 1920-1945, Philip S. Khoury
  • The Emergence of Modern Turkey, B. Lewis
  • Orientalism, Edward W. Said   Thanks 2: @jcdulaney!!!!!
  • The Modern History of Lebanon, K.S. Salibi
  • The Struggle for Syria: A Study of Post-War Arab Politics, 1945-1958, Patrick Seale
  • The History of Egypt: From Muhammad Ali to Sadat, P.J. Vatikiotis  Thanks 2 Judy Allen!!!!
  • The Making of the Modern Near East, 1792-1923. London, 1987. -The Near East Since the First World War London, 1991, M.E. Yapp  Thx to a Used Book Store in TA!
  • The Formation of Modern Lebanon, Meir Zamir

I’m sure that many of these titles are just sitting around on your bookshelves collecting dust, as they are best sellers throughout all the world. 😉

But seriously, if any of you feel compelled to help me out: you can choose a title and find it used on Amazon.com or a used bookstore etc…you would be helping me out tremendously!!! I’m praying to get them all donated and sent over within this month so I can begin trudging forward.  You’re not only helping me, you’re helping all those who I am helping (not to mention the huge blessing, as my support doesn’t exactly cover these types of things).  And if someone actually has one of these titles, I would not only be impressed….I would have to send some sort of prize or something for owning such a jewel of a book! 🙂 

Update: I have put the books on Amazon Wishlist, as to the request of a couple people.  You can either click on the link in this blog, or the Amazon Wishlist icon on the right-bar.  Thanks everyone!!!

Shipping Address:  
Maureen Milham
Hamavdil 8
Apt. #39
Ramat Gan
Israel
52562

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

10 responses to “Some light reading… UPDATED!

  • KSA

    I am in the midst of switching my Visa as well, after five years of having a student visa (all for language learning) i am trying to get a job. However, if that fall thought my ‘plan b’ is to work on a masters in central Asia studies. So i can sympathies with all the reading and work.

  • Jon Zondervan

    Congratulations on the Visa and good luck with the “light” reading!!! Just think how incredibly smart you will be when its all said and done!!!

  • Hilla

    Do I get a prize for having read one/some of these?? 😉
    At least one of them (“Orientalism” by E. Said) was part of my reading list 1st year of college. I’m sure you could find a lot of them in the library of my college here in Herzliya. So let me know which ever ones you don’t receive by mail, and I’ll see what I can do to help you!

    xoxo Hilla

    ps. what are you going to be studying, besides Arabic + Hebrew?

    • moweezle

      You definitely do!!! I didn’t even think about the library, cuz I have no idea where it is…I need to go check it out!!!

      I will be studying Middle Eastern Studies at TAU. 🙂

  • Joseph

    Great titles….I think I found several of those right next to Grisham and Patterson.

    Heading to Amazon now. Oh what to pick 🙂

  • Joseph

    Trying to order one for ya….but I do not have a ship to address. I thought it might do it when I clicked on the title in the wish list….ship to????

  • chaim

    so excited the school thing is going to happen! yeah! God is so faithful…

  • chrystiecole

    Oh wow! Now that is some light summertime reading. Congrats on being accepted as a student!

  • kristiapplesauce

    OH MY GOSH!!!! This is fantastic! I am thrilled for you and for the work being done on that side of the world. Yay!

  • alece

    okay… i am SO behind but am finally getting caught up on “Mo’s World” today.

    i’m glad you got accepted into the program but cringing for/with you for all the work that it involves. you never cease to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

