Mediterranean Monday (ok its Wed.): It’s Jellyfish Season!

jellyfishDuring the months of July-August, we are bombarded with the pesky creatures of the sea, aka…Jellyfish!  They come invading our Mediterranean bliss on their way up north towards Lebanon and beyond.  

We are reminded that they are not dangerous or deadly, but can cause bad burns on the skin where they touch you (try telling a child that they are not dangerous after he/she has just been burned).  

This morning I went to the beach to do some of my “light reading: Iraq to 1958“; this way I could break up the monotony with a few swim breaks.  Low and behold, there were jellyfish in the water.  Personally, I did not get stung, but a young girl did (and made sure the entire beach knew about it).

It reminded me of when I was little and we would take our yearly family vacation to Florida to visit my grandparents.  One year we were at the beach and a jellyfish wrapped itself around my mom’s arm.  I’m sure that she could tell the story better, as I only remember bits and pieces; but I do remember not wanting to go back in the water after that.  It was a really bad sting, and my dad had to get a trash bag in order to grab and pull it off her arm. 

So when you go to the beach this summer, be careful!!! Its an underwater jungle out there….

Any other jellyfish stories floating around??? Mom: you might want to fill in the missing parts….

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

10 responses to “Mediterranean Monday (ok its Wed.): It’s Jellyfish Season!

  • Joseph

    not a fan of the jellyfish….they give jam a bad name

  • Chrystie Cole

    Yikes! I am not a fan of any unknown little creatures that swim around in the water with me. I prefer a pool to swim in, thanks! Yet, the ocean is breathtaking and alluring. It is powerful and peaceful all at the same time. There is nothing like it!

  • Pam

    I have never had an encounter with the jellyfish perosnally, but on a trip to Biloxi, MS, the water was full of them. I think every child and teenager on the trip got stung, seemily at the same time. The jellyfish really put a damper on our fun. Everyone on the beach was recommending a remedy, everything from baking soda to beer.

  • Katherine

    That one looks huge! How big are they?

  • Mom

    I also am totally puzzled by that picture. Looks like it would engulf the whole person.
    As for my jellyfish encounter, I can attest that they certainly do sting. My arm was red for several hours after my one and only jellyfish meeting. No garbage bag, I guess I just shook it off of me. But Dad did scoop it up in a sand pail to get it out of the water. And swimmers quickly cleared out of the water when they heard “jellyfish”.

    • moweezle

      Its just the angle of the picture. It was taken from laying down on the sand and pointing the camera up at it. Makes it appear bigger.

      And there you have it…the true story of my mom’s jellyfish encounter 🙂

  • Kell

    Mo, i JUST watched a documentary on jelly fish a few weekends ago. We don’t really have jellyfish in the waters I grew up playing in so they are totally foreign to me! But after watching that show…I’m like seriously afraid of the things! In Oceanic waters they have little bitty ones that barely touch you and then you DIE.

    be careful…..be very careful……

  • Janey

    I encountered jellyfish for the first time in the sea off Nerja, Southern Spain…think the darn thing managed to catch me in some way…I’ve read that even a floating dismembered tentacle can stink! Yikes!

  • Tona

    We went to the MS Gulf Coast last week and the jellyfish were horrible! That is my biggest compaint of the whole trip. Biloxi and Gulfport waters were full of them. They were washing up with the tide. Even at night, you could walk in the edge of the water and they were even washed up in the sand. It was unbelievable. My 13 year son and 10 year old daughter took sand buckets and caught 30 something jellyfish one day. I was hoping when we went to Ship Island, we wouldn’t have to encounter these creatures. Lo and behold, they were there too. There were also what they were calling jellyfish lice which are almost microscopic baby jellyfish that do sting. At one point, I was almost in tears. I had to get out of the water because it was like being in an ant bed! It was beautiful on the island, but I wish they could do something about the pesty jellyfish!

Leave a Reply

