DODGEBALL: Crossing Cultural Borders

This week I learned that no matter what culture you come from, we all have one thing in common: kids love dodgeball!  

This week during the Nazareth English Camp, one of the American games I taught the kids to play was Medic (an upscale version of dodgeball).  I wasn’t sure how it would go over in the Arab community, especially with the girls, but I soon got my answer.  

Each day when the groups would come to my station, all the kids would approach me saying, “doctor? doctor?” (Medic wasn’t exactly a word in their culture, so I used doctor instead, while explaining).  No matter what new game I attempted to teach, they always wanted to play “doctor” (dodgeball).  

The week was beyond draining for me, and I seriously haven’t run around and played in a long time.  Needless to say, I was exhausted at the end of each day and today I totally crashed!  Even though I was in the middle of the action most the time (my arms and legs can attest to that), I was able to snap a few photos…

DSCF2047DSCF2048DSCF2046 DSCF2049

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

8 responses to “DODGEBALL: Crossing Cultural Borders

Leave a Reply

