The Teacher becomes The Student

Once upon a time, in a life long, long ago….I was The Teacher.  I have my degree in Elem. Education, and I taught for 6 years.  I enjoyed teaching… as with any job it had its highs and lows; but there are many days when I truly miss being in the classroom again.  

Now, my life has come full circle and I am The Student (again).  Long story short (if you don’t follow along daily and aren’t up to speed with my visa situations) I am beginning my Masters in Middle Eastern Studies, here in Tel Aviv.  Sometimes I don’t know if I’m up for the task.  After all…… 

I am on the wrong side of the desk….

I will be writing papers instead of grading them….

I am reading books, and not assigning them….

I am taking tests, not administrating them….

And I keep telling myself,God’s ways are bigger than my ways; its all for the greater good!    

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

9 responses to “The Teacher becomes The Student

  • @ngie

    You inspire me Ms. Maureen Milham.

    • moweezle

      its funny. I haven’t heard anyone call me Miss Milham (or Miss Maureen) since I was teaching…… it still catches me off guard when some of my former students call me that. hehehe

  • alece

    so weird to be on the other side of what you usually do. i know…

    (love you.)

  • Andrea

    That would be so strange for me too. I’m really excited for you, though, and can’t wait to hear stories!

  • Mom

    God’s grace is sufficient. It certainly will challenge your brain to exercise!

  • Katherine

    How often are your classes? Do you have full days 5 days a week?

    • moweezle

      Right now I have a full month of what they call Intensive Hebrew Class. Its Sun-Thurs. 8:30 am -1pm. (our weekends are Fri and Sat)

      The University lecture classes don’t begin until October (thats the beginning of the year here). When those start, I will only have 3 classes a semester, so not everyday (Thank God). Until then though, I will be crazy busy…after Hebrew class each day, I have Sudanese Ministry at 2:30pm and on Thursdays I have soup kitchen.

      Ish!!! 🙂

  • Joseph

    Did not know that…knew I liked ya.

    I work with teachers every day…in fact I sell to them, train them etc….

    my wife is a teacher as well….

    now that you are once again the student be careful….you could get detention! I cannot imagine where you are it is a good thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

