Move Along

This morning on my trek to Ulpan as I was listening through the shuffle selection of my music, the song, Move Along by All American Rejects began playing.  I don’t know if this happens with you or not, but certain songs can take me back to specific time periods of my life in a flash.  The moment I hear the beginning of the song, I am immediately whisked back in time.

This happens to be one of those particular songs….

Some years ago I went through an awful situation in my personal life, probably one of the darkest times in my life.  If there were ever a rock-bottom for me, that was it. I lost all will to do anything: eat, get out of bed, talk, etc. It was full-fledged depression and heartache.

Like I said…I had hit rock bottom!

I remember I would play that song over and over again, just to remind me to motivate myself to keep going.  There’s a line in the song that says,  

And even when your hope is gone, move along, move along just to make it through. Move Along.

That summed it up perfectly for me at that time.  I had completely lost all sight of hope, and I was only moving along to make it through.  Whether it was one hour, one day, or one week….it was to just keep moving along.

Years later, and here I am…I did make it through.  As I was walking and listening, I was once again taken back to that time in my life; but this time it was a new sort of remembrance.  It was a reminder of a time when I didn’t think I would ever have hope again, yet now I have hope.  It was a reminder of a time when I didn’t think I would make it through, yet I somehow managed.  It was a reminder of God’s faithfulness in my life, and how He never lets me go.

Yes, once in a while we have to keep moving, even when we don’t want to, or don’t seem to have the strength to. When we can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel, we have to keep moving, because eventually we will reach it. Sometimes you arrive quickly, and sometimes it takes forever to get there, but I am living proof that if you keep moving along, you will get there!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

11 responses to “Move Along

  • Shana Poisel

    I understand completely about needing to move along despite the loss of hope. I’m glad you were able to do so, otherwise I would not now be able to read your uplifting posts. Thank you!

  • Theresa

    This is such a great motivation for me today. I think that even when we have hit bottom and have been rebuilt stronger that we have to remember to Move Along sometimes.

    I have been enjoying you….Thanks!

  • Danielle :)

    Look how the Lord has blessed you. 🙂 He is so good….ALL the time. And its true, we can go through some pretty dark moments in our lives, but there is always hope. Always. And His name is Jesus. 🙂 Stay blessed my Israel friend.

  • Joseph

    Great reminder for me today as well. Boy do I need to move along from some things getting in the way of life right now.

    Interesting you write about this. In church we are doing our annual series God At The Movies. Each week we see clips from a film, and then our Pastor ties the clips back to the bible and life and how God speaks to us through all different mediums. We just have to be willing to listen.

    I think this really is the case for music. For many of us, the sound and the lyrics can really speak to us. Maybe take us back for something fond, or back to something tough to help us gain perspective on new ventures.

    It is so cool how God does this.

  • chrystiecole

    Hmm! I have never heard this song before. I might have to check it out. Great post, Maureen! Love it!

  • chaim

    thanks, i needed that.

  • Tim

    Amazing how music can help sooth the soul!

  • Mom

    Yes, sometimes the hits in life can knock you right down but by the power of God’s grace and faithfulness, you have to “pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again.” I’m feeling pretty “dusty” right now but I”ll get moving again!

  • alece

    some days — still — it takes all i have to keep “moving along”…

Leave a Reply

