When it rains, it pours!

As my mom said today, in the beginning of her email…

When it rains, it pours.

Well, its pouring!

…I’ve recently started up knitting again, and for anyone who knits (or knows the process) pulling on that single string can unravel the entire project.  I feel like at this moment someone is pulling on my family’s sweater string, and we are slowly losing the shape of what looked like a beautiful, close-knit sweater.  As fast as I try to knit the stitches together, its just not as fast as the rate of that string being tugged….

So The Time Has Come.

In the OT, people fasted for various reasons: 

  •  Distress/grief (David for the loss of his son… the 7-day fast after the death of Saul)
  •  Repentance/Atonement (The Ninevites after Jonah’s warning… and even today in Israel on Yom Kipur)
  •  Spiritual Preparation (Daniel before receiving the revelation… Moses before receiving the 10 Commandments… and even Jesus for 40 days in the desert)

I have decided that I, too, must begin the journey.

I don’t know for how long I will fast; but I do know that like those before me, I am expecting a BIG breakthrough. As hard as I try, I can do nothing on my own.  I need His help! I am holding God to HIS promises.  I am praying for the future and well-being of my family, the people I love most in this world.  I am taking back what the world has stolen from us, and I’m not letting go.  It won’t be easy, but nothing of true value is gained with little effort.  

Therefore, if you would be willing to remember us in your prayers and keep me accountable to follow through, I would be eternally grateful!  

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord….plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with ALL your heart.

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

10 responses to “When it rains, it pours!

  • Theresa

    I am praying. I pray the rain turns to a blessing.

    Be Safe and Steadfast!

  • Mom

    You are incredible, Maureen! So well put. Yes, there’s definitely some unraveling but as we place the “needles” in His hands, we know the sweater will be better than ever!
    And hey, without rain things won’t grow so we’re looking for an awesome harvest. Job’s 100 fold restoration!!

    What a blessing from your “coffee friend”. So thoughtful!!

  • Joseph

    Wow. I love how you put things into writing.

    I have learned one thing in life, and it really is probably only one thing (I am not that bright)

    That one thing is that in the worst of times comes some of the most amazing gifts from God.

    Praying for you and I look forward to one day reading your blog post about the blessing this situation has brought your life.

  • Jon Zondervan

    Praying for you guys and believing that what God has knit together can never truly unravel. Praying strength, wisdom, and favor over your family, God bless,

  • Katherine

    I’m praying for you to Mo and your family! Just like your mom put it, for an awesome harvest… a hundred fold return! Love you!

  • @ngie

    Yes! That is the way to handle it – hit it head on with the truth, faith and biblical strategy. Amen!

  • moweezle

    Thx everyone 4 ur prayers!!!

  • Rebecca

    I will be praying and believing with you for your big breakthrough!

  • Traci

    Praying for you, my sweet new friend! So glad we “bumped into each other” on this www!

    Praying with you as you seek the face of our Lord closer. Praying that big changes are to come,

    …if only in your heart!

    Love,
    Traci

  • Donna O

    Will be praying and asking :0). Be warned….it is TRUE that when you fast amazing things happen :0). Often during times of fasting we are renewed and feel so close to the lord–sometimes though, He reveals SO much of “us” and it can be illuminating! I mean that in a good way. When He chooses to illuminate Himself to us “mere mortals” it is so humbling and awesome! Looking forward to what he shows you ;0)!

    Lord, grant grace, strength, humility, and a passion for you as they begin such an endeavor!

Leave a Reply

