Sukkot (סוכות)

DSCF2513Tonight was the last night of the 7 day holiday celebrated in Israel called Sukkot. Since I was back in the States during the beginning of it, I missed out on the festivities my flat-mates held at our apartment.

During Sukkot (aka: The Feast of the Tabernacles found in Lev. 23:33-44) Israeli’s are called to remember the time in which the Israelites wandered in the desert for 40 years, with no permanent house dwelling.  The word Sukkot is the plural form of the Hebrew word, Sukka, which means booth or hut, in remembrance of the fragile dwellings the Israelites lived in during these times.

My flat-mate turned our varanda into a sukka, which technically we are supposed to eat and sleep under. I did eat under it (though I eat most of my meals on the varanda), but sleeping out there didn’t quite happen 🙂  I think she did a really good job, and I was pleasantly surprised, returning home to see our varanda all “sukkoted out”. (I really don’t think that is a word). hehehe

Happy Last day of Sukkot!

DSCF2514

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

10 responses to “Sukkot (סוכות)

  • Bonnie Gray | FaithBarista

    Thank you for the reminder of Sukkot. What a wonderful picture to encourage us to invite our friends in, as we make do with our temporary digs of life on earth.

    Thanks for sharing the pictures, Maureen. It’s fun to see what you’re looking at. 🙂

  • Perez Christina

    interesting

  • Joseph

    Very cool.

    I always love how you share things that we in the States do not usually get to experience…

  • @ngie

    Fascinating! That would be a fun festival to participate in. I am glad to know that you at least got in on the tail end of it. 🙂

  • chrystie

    So cool! Did you have a good trip?

  • donna o

    Ah! Sukkot. I have MANY fond memories of this holiday:0). I grew up in good ‘ole Brooklyn, NY and our area was a wonderful mix of every nationality you could imagine! Many Jewish families lived in the area. The homes were called “attached brickstone” row houses and every other or third “house” had a veranda or terrace. Several families would celebrate together so as no family would not have a “booth”. I would see the the booths go up with their “leafy” roof tops :0). Next door, you may see a Buddah “offering” table, next to that an Italian home with a Mary statue—many different people all searching for an answer, really. Your post brought back a FLOOD of memories of my childhood and young adult years. I LOVE the Jewish culture! 2 influential teachers in my early years was a born again Rabbi and Mitch Glaser who is involved with a large Jewish ministry in NYC. I was also very blessed to work for an orthodox family and through that I also experienced several Jewish holiday seasons! Thanks for prompting these memories I have not thought about in a while. Good times for me.
    So glad you had a nice visit in the states—now back the language study—work, work, work :0)!!

  • kristiapplesauce

    Oh my gosh. I love your life. Sometimes I imagine you living in the Bible. Like I am reading through Genesis right now and I think about the traditions and the people and the where and what’s. Yay you.

Leave a Reply

