I really miss my family!

There is a Barlow Girl song called Here’s My Life that pretty much sums up how I feel every time I finish furlough and go back on the field.  For many reasons, this past furlough has been the most difficult time to return, so I find myself re-listening to this song and reminding myself why I’m here.  Here are some of the lyrics, and I put a link at the end if you want to hear the song in full…. Its good stuff!!!

Once again I said my goodbyes, to those I love most

My heart feels that familiar pain, as I long for hope

Cause this road is hard, when I feel so far

God, I’m crying out tonight

Cuz I’ve given you my life

But I’m tired, and I’m missing what’s behind

So once more, here’s my life….

(For the complete song, click here)

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

17 responses to “I really miss my family!

  • @ngie

    Mo, coming back from this little one week trip to Colorado was the fist time I didn’t feel like I wanted to leave the States. It was a bit scary. I am still trying to figure out what to do about it. I wanted to attribute it to the fact that the trip was so short. But, honestly, I think there might be something deeper down that is causing these feelings.

    • moweezle

      I said the same thing. Usually I am home for a longer time, and by the end I am beyond ready to go back…..but this time, since it was such a short visit, I never reached that point. I think thats why it was a lot harder than usual for me!

  • Joseph

    It is good that you miss your family. It tells you how important they are to you.
    There are so many of us that do not realize this in life and it is sad.
    Plus, it is wonderful you have that family to return to and can miss.

    So, this might be a bit twisted but, CELEBRATE you missing your family.

    It tells the world what an awesome and amazing family you have and lets them know you really love them!

  • Mom

    Good twist, Joseph and he is right, I feel bad that you have to deal with the sad emotion of missing us but it also makes me feel good that our bond is strong enough to evoke those emotions.
    I went and listened to the song and in the midst of my tears, I could see it so applies to your life. And also this verse:
    When I find I fear the calling
    You remind me
    Words spoken over my life
    Promises I’ve yet to see
    You comfort me
    So once more, Here’s my life
    I pray that God’s calling and promises will overshadow all that you do!! That you will know that you know…

    • moweezle

      I know! Specially that last verse you wrote, so powerful! The entire album is one of my very favorite of all times.

    • Jessica Gavin

      Awe, this is so sweet! You are so fortunate to have a family that loves you so! I’m glad you got to spend some time with them. You’re doing such a great thing!!!

      PS. I’m coming to your part of town end of March for a 10 day tour with my church. I hope to get the opportunity to meet you!

  • darla

    i relate to that song too, and Barlow Girl in general! praying for you sweets! i know your road is hard, but I know our GOD is big! and HE has HIS eyes on you!

  • Gina

    That song is so beautiful.
    I admire your work. You are doing amazing things and I am so proud of someone I don’t even know. I enjoy your blog and honestly I am blown away by your connection to God.

  • Michelle

    My first comment! I’m sure you are shocked!

    I have seen and spoken to you less often than ever. Our visits, phone conversations, and even emails are spread out further apart…certainly different than the hours every day that we spent together 15 years ago. So, a quick reflection on what you’ve shared here…

    I feel closer to you than ever. When I am with you, I realize that we are living two very different lives, and I want to sit and talk with you forever, and somehow catch up on the days/months/years that we’ve lived “separately.” But, at the same time, I feel like the connection doesn’t change, except to get stronger. In that way, I feel like no time has gone by apart. So, when you walk in the door two years from now, I have no fear about who you are, who I am, and who we are together as friends.

    I miss you, and I love you, and I will always look forward to being with you when those opportunities are there. In the meantime, I especially love watching you do what you were created to do, and be who you have been gifted to be.

    • moweezle

      I am shocked!!! But in a good way 🙂 I feel the exact same way. I can honestly say you are one of my very best friends, though we see each other once a year or every 2 years at best. Love you TOO!

  • Theresa

    You are so loved and missed. I got chills reading the interaction with your Mom. Joseph is right about Celebrating.

    My husband became an orphan this last May. Not the same as going to do Missionary work but I know he wishes that his parents would come home.

    What a blessing you are….What a blessing you have. God is using you and I am sitting on my but in the USA….Scared to leave the country. If God told me tomorrow I had to GO…I would really beg him to let me stay here.

    The respect that I have for all of you that GO and Tell of the Word is beyond explaination. Thank you for doing as I sit here watching.

  • Rebecca

    i hear ya…praying for your heart as you readjust to life far away from family.

Leave a Reply

