Pre-Holiday Wishlist

If any of you are wondering what to get me this year for Christmas, ponder no more!  I’ve come up with a brilliant idea that will relinquish my craving for some holiday spirit.

Here’s the deal:  There is NO Christmas here!  No festive lights, no trees, no carolers caroling, no drummers drumming… and especially NO Christmas movies on TV. (Plus, I don’t even own a TV, so that doesn’t help me much).

In order to be somewhat connected with my Christmas roots, I own 2 Christmas movies:

  • Elf (with Will Farrell)
  • How the Grinch Stole Christmas (with Jim Carey)

Sadly to say, I’ve already watched them both.  Soooooo, (drumroll) my brilliant idea is this…… if you are looking to buy your favorite Shine! ambassador a little something something for Christmas, look no more.  I am a Christmas movie FANATIC, and there are many good ones to choose from (see last years poll of some fav’s here).  Maybe Santa’s little helpers will surprise me with some holiday spirit this year 🙂

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

19 responses to “Pre-Holiday Wishlist

  • Joseph

    OOOH OOOHH OOOOHHH…I am first!!!

    I dibs sending you the greatest Christmas movie of all times…

    The Christmas Story. Nothing says Christmas like “shooting your eye out with a Red Rider BB Gun!”

    Do me a favor though….I cannot find your address…drop it to me in email and the movie and an additional Christmas treat will be on the way!

  • moweezle

    U r OFFICIALLY my UN-OFFICIAL” American-guardian angel. U Rock!!! What would I do w/out you and ur awesome gifts (and falafel comments, which I had last night by the way)????

    I remember that The Christmas Story is on 24 non-stop on the TBS channel the day before Christmas. I don’t know how many times I have tuned in to see it, looking forward to that every year!!!!

  • Mom

    We also need your address. A box will be sent your way with your tunic/sweater, some more Mac & cheese and now we can add a Christmas movie or two. I’m thinking a couple of my favorites are Family Man and Preacher’s Wife (with Whitney). Or if you have something else in mind let me know. I’ll have to check your list again.

    • moweezle

      My own family doesn’t even have my address????? What is going on here! (and I’m pretty sure you don’t even have my phone number either) I’m like a secret agent over here….. lol

  • alece

    so frustrated that i have a box all ready to go (with everything on you list except popcorn seasonings which i haven’t been able to find anywhere!) — and no way to get it to you!

    hmph.

  • Kristy

    You need National Lapoons Christmas Vacation!! Thats the ultimate christmas movie. Maybe Polar Express too!

    • moweezle

      OH MY GOODNESS!!!! This must be at the very top of the list!

      – The little lights aren’t twinkling, Clark!
      – EDDIE!!!
      – Grace? She’s been dead for years… THE BLESSING. They want you to say the blessing!

      Ohhhhh the Griswolds!!! Gotta love em.

      (and yes, the Polar Express too)

  • Jill

    Yes, Mo I also would like your address!!!

  • Pablo

    I haven´t found Santa Claus, the Grinch, Rudolph nor the Elves in any biblical version that I know(maybe in Finland) I think they could play those movies in Israel for Christmas because they talk about commerce, not about Jesus, they talk about the north Pole not about Jerusalem, and they are funny movies not like the Bible that is not “funny”, it is a serious book, maybe because it is real and not necessarily commercial, it could be like an action movie in some parts, and that action, specially the Apocalypses is what the Israelis are going to see live, 3 D version of the Bible if they don’t read the printed version first.
    I like Christmas movies, but they have nothing to do with the Bible. There is a new movie with Jim Carrey about Charles Dickens Christmas tales coming soon.

    • moweezle

      I would really like to see that new Jim Carrey movie, I saw the previews for it while I was home.

      While Christmas movies have nothing to do with the Bible, that is true, they are fun and entertaining, and its more of the cultural value than anything else for me.

  • chrystiecole

    Don’t you have an Amazon wishlist?

  • annie

    Okay, so I picked up two movies, thinking that one of them would be one you didn’t own (since I didn’t really remember which you said you had). I just re-referenced this post, and … well, the two I picked up are Elf and How the Grinch Stole Christmas. :< sigh.

  • annie

    But I really wanted to send you something! So … what do you want? 🙂

Leave a Reply

