Dealing with Disappointment

Lets face it; everyone suffers from disappointment in life.  It comes and goes, and the truth is, when we put our expectations into something (or someone) here on earth, we run the risk of being disappointed.

Yesterday it happened to me.  A few months ago I had submitted an essay for a scholarship award, which would pretty much pay for my entire year of schooling (and then some in which I could put toward the youth center).  I really wanted to win. I put my heart into my writing, only to find out I wasn’t selected.

Immediately all the negative thoughts swirled around in my mind:  I’m just not a good writer.  Why did I even think I had a chance?  Why did I even bother in the first place?

Thoughts which only then led to fears: Well, now what? How will I pay for school? How will I afford the youth center each month?  Maybe I shouldn’t even be here…..

Then I took a breath and this verse popped into my mind: Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. (Proverbs 3:5)

And HIS voice reassured me: I brought you here, not that contest.  Trust in me and I will supply all your needs.

Its what I needed to hear. I had placed my hope in that essay.  I had depended on that money for my needs.  I looked upon the earth instead of the heavens. And I had let it overcome my thoughts.

Am I still a bit disappointed? Yes.

Will I give up and lose hope? No.

…and once again I’m brought back to the one verse that sustains me in times of trails, disappointment, heartache, saddness, fear, and all else… For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

21 responses to “Dealing with Disappointment

  • chaim

    sorry it didn’t work out, i thought you did a great job writing it. this verse also came to mind…

    Psalm 122:6

    Pray for the peace of Jerusalem:
    “May those who love you be secure.

  • annie

    Oh, GOOD stuff. I’m hearing you loud and clear. God’s been doing the same thing for me this year – showing me how much I had been depending on other things than Him to supply me. What my pastor calls “stinkin’ thinkin’!”

  • Corey

    Thanks for the words of encouragement. They came at the most perfect time (HIS!) I find that I rely too often onmyself and others instead of Him and usually end up disappointed, frustrated and angry for knowing better but not doing better. Thanks for the reminder.

  • Pablo

    Welcome to Planet Earth. John 16:33.
    The other day I was listening to a Pastor and he said that one of most important characteristics in a leader these days is constancy, he was talking about trying again and again, persisting, that’s like an exercise for those who tend to quit easily, if greater things are going to come you should learn to overcome these kind of situations that are normal, the key is to go on, to continue, also to understand that there is a spiritual battle, you are in Israel. Persistence is not just optional it is the key to achieve important things, if it is not natural in a person to be persistent then these situations are good for training it.
    About contests the truth is that they are completely subjective, the judges are human beings, different judges have different opinions, there are many things involved, not always positive things. Shalom.

  • Charlene

    You are an inspiration to me, friend! You are right God will provide…..above and beyond. 🙂 BTW- I am following you now!

  • @ngie

    That is so great that even in the midst of disappointment you were able to hear God’s reassuring voice speaking to your heart. Keep on, lady. You are doing a great job!

  • Traci

    Keep Looking Up… even when it is hard. I know, it sounds cliche. I don’t mean it to be. It is so hard to face disappointment.

    I LOVE JER. 29:11-13! Keep quoting it… over and over.

    Hugs,
    Traci

  • Krissie

    That’s a great reminder for me right now, as I throw myself into a project… gonna make sure I’m putting my hope in God to come through, and not the project. Thanks!

  • Katherine

    So good and true! I love you mo!

  • Pam

    Wonderful thoughts. Hang in there.

  • moweezle

    Thanks, girls!!! U are all encouragements to me 🙂

  • Marc

    Thanks for this… I needed it. Not that I was in disappointment necessarily but just that I need to trust in God more while I’m in these circumstances. Thanks.

  • marclipovsky.com » Blog Archive » Lean Not On My Own Understanding

    […] friend reminded me today that I need to trust in the Lord […]

  • kim

    Hi friend,

    I couldn’t be more blessed and encouraged by anyone other than you these past few months. Wow! how the Lord has and is using you in my life. Please be certain of this very thing … that you encourage and strengthen so many others daily, just as He sees fit. God is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him … and that is you! He is and will Continue to reward you abundantly … do you believe it? I do.

    Needing to Remember for myself these days that …
    The Lord is Gracious in all His ways .. He owns the cattle on a thousand hills on a thousand hills, His thoughts are higher than mine, and His ways are perfect … and Our needs are already being met, as He knows each one intimately and holds us right in the palm of His hand.
    I pray your heart is encouraged in remembering, too 😉

    These verses have been on my heart for you …
    Luke 1:45
    Psalm 91
    Isaiah 58
    Col. 1:9-14 .. as I am praying for you!

    love you, sweet friend … Hang tight, Stay Strong and keep you eyes fixed above .. just as you are already doing 😉

    We are Praying for you Faithfully!
    k

  • bahava

    Linked over here from Marc’s blog and just wanted to say that your words are such an encouragement to me tonight about trusting in God and that He does have plans! Great post!

  • Joseph

    Remember we do not learn from our successes but our failures.

    It still completely sucks at times, but in the long run you will look back at this piece of writing or event and gain a success from it.

  • alece

    hope feels out of reach for me again… and thus disappointment hugs close… i hate it.

    gotta deal with my heart funk this week.

  • moweezle

    u all r fantastic!!! Thanks for this amazing encouragement!!!

    Alece: love you much!!!! I will be praying for your heart!

  • chrystiecole

    Wow! I love this post!!! I so often struggle with placing my hope on earthly things. I believe in God’s plan for you and in His provision!

Leave a Reply

