When the Saints Go Marching In…

I think most of us grew up learning the “old school” version of this song, especially if you were ever in band.  I remember when I was in 4th grade, my mom put together a composition of this song for me to play my trumpet to, with my friend, Ang, on the flute… harmony and all.  We actually played it for the talent show that year.

I also think most of us think of Saints in terms of Catholicism, such as St. Peter, St. Andrew, St. John etc.  but really, who IS a Saint?

According to the dictionary, there are many ways of being a saint:

  1. a person who has died and gone to heaven.
  2. an extremely virtuous person.
  3. any of certain persons of exceptional holiness of life, formally recognized as such by the Christian Church, esp. by canonization.
  4. a founder, sponsor, or patron, as of a movement or organization.

That sure does leave a lot of possibilities, as far as what EXACTLY a saint is.

Sara Groves has a wonderfully, unique take on the ancient term that for me, pretty much sums it up.  There are a few lines that speak to me, and each time I hear it, I think “thats exactly who I want to be marching in with“.

I see the long, quiet walk along the underground railroad,

I see the slave, awakened to the value of her soul,

I see the young missionary and the angry spear,

I see his family returning with no choice of fear,

I see the long, hard shadows of Calcutta Lights,

I see the sister standing by the dying mans side,

I see the young girl huddled on the brothel floor,

I see the man with a passion, come and kicking down that door,

Oh When the Saints, Go Marching In, I wanna be one of them……

So, who do you want to be marching in with you???

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

9 responses to “When the Saints Go Marching In…

  • Dan

    This song was in my car every day this summer. It helped re-focus my brain and heart as I was dealing with culture shock issues here in Cyprus. It helped me to press on.

    A good reminder of God’s provision during a time of struggle. Press on!

  • LaRissa

    I am privileged to be walking daily with people who were once lost but now are found – who understand what it is to be freed from great and terrible darkness. And knowing the stories of people that I worship with reminds me daily of what an incredible God I serve. Thanks for the reminder that these people are saints.

  • Brett Barner

    I always kind of giggled when I saw the “Saints Only” parking spots in church parking lots. I don’t know why, but I think of saints in the sense of patron saints or the football team. It’s humbling to think of yourself being a saint. I’d like to go marching in with my family. I was blessed to be raised in a family that consists of great Christians. They would be who I want to go marching in with.

    • moweezle

      I have never seen that, but I would looooove a picture! hehehe

      I know what you mean about your family…I feel the same way! I definitely would LOVE marching in with them!!!

  • Traci

    Hey there! What an awesome thing to know Hebrew! I would love to learn.

    Let me know, as you study Psalm 119 in Hebrew, if there are any cool insights you get… I would love to do that!

    Hugs,
    Traci

  • Mom

    What a picture it makes. A family (natural, church, those you minister to, etc) linked arm in arm as they march into the throne room of the King of kings and Lord of lords!! Or blowing their trumpets together as that one picture in her song video of the little kids marching in a parade or whatever.
    Also reminds me of Hebrews 11 and all the saints of faith who have marched in before us. What a grand parade it will be!!!

  • @ngie

    Wow. Very good question, Mo. Really makes you think about what matters, doesn’t it? Thanks for this post.

  • KSA

    Hey girl, It is good to get caught up on your life again. I really liked this post, the song was great. I hadn’t heard it before, but will have to see if I can download it while I am on my internet vacation.

Leave a Reply

