A Freak-out Thanksgiving!

I just wanted everyone to know that I’m freaking out a little on the inside about Thanksgiving this year (which we are celebrating on Fri. instead of Thurs… we don’t have Thurs. off here)

This is my 1st time EVER hosting and cooking Thanksgiving dinner, and I’m nervous.  Add to that my turkey-experience today, and I’m almost at full-blown freak-out mode.

We bought our turkey at the shuk (Israeli market), which does not normally sell whole turkey, so I was pleasantly surprised when I found out we were able to get it.

The good news is that they DID de-feather and be-head him….the bad news is they did NOT do a good job.  After my bloody bus ride home, lugging him with me across the city, and leaving a blood trail on the floor, I put him in the sink to wash him off. This is when I noticed that the neck was indeed included in the deal (stuffed inside) and there were remnants of feathers all over.

AHHHH! Let the freak-out begin. My first Thanksgiving cooking, and I have to begin by pulling out feather pieces.  I will update you with pictures and details on how it went…. until then

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

18 responses to “A Freak-out Thanksgiving!

  • Katie

    ahhh…thankfully the kitchen staff handled that part for us! my vegetarian self might have had a serious meltdown!

    have fun Friday!! i can’t wait to hear how everything turns out. If you can’t get stuffing, I found a really easy recipe from scratch, i tested it out this weekend. I can send you the recipe if you want. 🙂

  • Grace Kaleda

    Dear Maureen…..

    I laughed so hard reading your post about the turkey! Sounds like the making of an epic story:))

    I saw Chaim’s documentary on the shopping with Paul and Becca….so we saw your large feathered friend whilst he/she was still tucked behind a glass case. I know you may be feeling a little keyed up at the thought of cooking Thanksgiving….but if it’s any comfort to you….there isn’t much you can do to hurt a turkey. Just remember to turn the oven on (many have forgotten to do this) and check the thing every hour or so. I’m sure no one would be that critical of a few feathers here and there…..you could use the quills to pick your teeth!!

    Can’t wait for the pictures….lol!

    Grace

  • Mom

    You can do it! So I guess at least you have a fresh turkey instead of frozen. That should be a plus.
    We can connect tomorrow. When do you plan to be home?

  • LaRissa

    That should say – is your kitchen on fire? If not then you are a better cook than me. Wishing you a beautiful thanksgiving! Best of luck with the turkey!

  • Joseph

    THIS IS AWESOME! Ohhh pleeeeaaaasssseee add pictures of the whole thing. I have this whole mental image of you running through town with a bleeding bag and a half prepped turkey. Not to mention what the locals are saying to you.
    This story can only get better and there is a high possibility of it becoming a story for years…please take pictures.

    Really though…good luck and a super Happy Thanksgiving…still want pictures though just in case 🙂

    • moweezle

      pics to come for sure! I was going to take some last night, but my camera batteries were not charged 😦 Plus, I didn’t get home with the beast till 10:30 pm and I was a bit exhausted. lol

  • CM

    Oh my word! Good luck with that!

  • Tim

    Happy Thanksgiving Maureen! Good luck!

  • Chrystie

    Blech! Sounds very appetizing! I know what you mean about freak out mode though. I am cooking my first Thanksgiving meal too. In just a few short hours, we will have 16 people descend upon our house expecting to be fed. Yikes!!! On top of that, I ventured away from a traditional turkey. I am cooking a Turducken (combo Turkey, Duck and Chicken). Whew! I hope its good!

    Happy Thanksgiving, Maureen! I am so thankful for our new bloggy friendship over this past year!!!

  • alece

    love that you’re cooking/hosting this year! and i hear you on the “whole different experience” of doing it overseas. makes me grateful for the nice, neat, pre-packaged, pop-up timer turkeys here in america!

  • (One Day After) Thanksgiving Day Bliss « Mo’s Marathon

    […] 28, 2009 by moweezle What began as a Freak-Out Thanksgiving, ended up a Fantastic one!  While there were a couple moments of doubt, skepticism and […]

  • (One Day After) Thanksgiving Day Bliss | Shine International

    […] began as a Freak-Out Thanksgiving, ended up a Fantastic one!  While there were a couple moments of doubt, skepticism and […]

Leave a Reply

