Literary Lunatics

Today instead of my Ottoman Empire class, we had a tour of the Research/Grad Library at the University.  I can honestly say that I haven’t been in a school library since back in the 90’s, and even then I never was one to hang out there.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE TO READ, but for some reason libraries freak me out.

Its too quiet…

There’s soooo many serious people…

You’re not allowed to bring in food or drink…

And its always really cold in there.

I also need distraction.

Music…

Internet…

or Noise.

Its the only way I can get things accomplished.  Therefore, this library tour wasn’t on the top of my list of things to look forward to today.  BUT…. I must admit, I was mildly impressed.  They have special archives there that no where else in the world has.

Israeli/CIA documentations… (within limits, of course)

Every article/journal written in the Arabic world dating back years and years…

And anything regarding Middle East Conflicts and Policies (and you know that could be its own library in itself!)

SO, after the little tour of this not-so-library-feeling-library, I’m actually thinking of MAYBE going there once in a while, if necessary.  After all, I don’t want to commit to anything that would give me reason to actually LIKE a library. That would make me one of those Literary Lunatics!!! 🙂

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

5 responses to “Literary Lunatics

  • Joyful

    CIA documentations, Arabic articles/journals, that’s pretty cool.

  • KSA

    hey now, be nice. I worked in a university library for four years and I think I am only slightly more of a lunatic now than I would have been with out all those hours quiet seriousness. Enjoy!

    • moweezle

      lol. I really wish I could enjoy working at libraries, cuz I seriously love books so much. I love book stores…could spend hours in there. What is wrong with me???

  • alece

    i love books! i have shelves and shelves full of books back home in SA (and i’ve already amassed a pretty good collection here in the ATL too – yikes!), but i just can’t do libraries. they bother me for reasons i’ve never taken the time to think through before. i think it has to do with

    A) the smell
    B) the quiet
    C) the awkwardness of not knowing how it “works”
    D) the sterile/hospitalness feel

Leave a Reply

