Single during the Holidays

For me the most difficult time of the year to be single is during the Holidays.  Add on top of that my family and close friends living a million miles away, and it’s just downright depressing.  I want to remain positive and in high spirits, but the truth is sometimes its just hard to get through the day.  While everyone is putting up Christmas trees, decorating their houses, watching Christmas movies, and sipping on Egg Nog… I am over here in Anti-Christmas land just trying to catch a glimpse.

Yes, this is my calling and I gladly choose it…..but I just wish that he (my future husband) was here choosing it alongside me.  Its been almost 10 years on the field alone, and I’m beyond ready for a change.  There’s a Christmas song that Mariah Carey sings called, All I Want For Christmas Is You….. and its really, truly the one and only thing I want for Christmas this year.

I’m sending my Christmas list directly to Elohim this year, after all… Santa Claus doesn’t make stops in Israel (I think he knows where he’s not wanted).  I mean, come on!  This is the Holy Land, right?  Shouldn’t our Christmas list requests be top priority??? hehehehe

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

21 responses to “Single during the Holidays

  • Theresa

    You are an amazing woman!

  • Charlene

    I hear you sister. Where is that guy anyway? Did he get lost on his way to the Holy Land…or is he there looking for a Christmas Tree in a window to find you?

    Love ya!

  • claudia

    Dear Maureen,
    I can hear and feel your pain…I was having a drink with a friend tonight, a very nice girl whom I saw crying and broken over the fact of being not single but ALONE. Because, being away from your dear ones or friends is so consuming. It’s like your all your energy goes into keeping your head above the water, not looking to your left or your right because all you see everywhere is shiny happy people. They may be the greatest pretenders of all but loneliness is a state of your heart and not even so much physical. Not having someone, that Someone to share your thoughts, hope, dreams, fears is almost like torture.
    I don’t even want to hear people tapping me on the back and telling me that everything is going to be just fine and that I need to be patient. I think I am at the point where I skipped both Santa and the Big Boss…for my Christmas wish list ..
    However, never say never…what if u’re meant to love a limited number of times in your life…that means i am past my critical number:3
    I love you Maureen and know you’re not alone in this.
    I miss you
    Claudia

  • Michael Travis

    Maureen,
    I truly believe the Lord wants to give you the desires of your heart and I for one will pray with you. I have just recently started to fast and pray every other tuesday and I will add this request to my list.

    I hope you have a wonderful and blessed christmas as you spend it as you say in an “anti-christmas land,” but a land no less that brought forth our Savior and i pray that with that understanding alone you will be truly blessed.

    Psalms 37:4 says, take delight in the Lord, and He will give you your heart’s desires. What a great promise!
    Hope this isn’t to much just thought I would try to encourage you.
    Love you and Merry Christmas!

  • Krissie

    Thanks for just putting it out there. I get the single during the holidays thing…. I can definitely relate, it is by far the worst time of year for me and singleness, and it consequently coincides nicely for me with timing for my birthday, and realizing that I won’t be married by the time my next bday rolls around.

    I can not however relate to being in a foreign country during the holidays, and I’m sure that makes everything so much more difficult. Thank you for the sacrifice you are making, I pray God will grant your Christmas wish!

    I’ll be thinking about you and praying for you through the season!

  • CM

    I can’t imagine what it’s like to be so far from family and friends, but I hear you on being single for the holidays! Not only is it the time I most want to share with a significant other, it’s also the time when all my friends are busy and I am… not. Then I have no choice but to face that here is another year, and I’m still single. I’ll be praying for you over the holidays- and all the other single people commenting here!

  • BcBuckeye

    Maureen,
    Great blog today and I gotta say that in alot of ways I feel like you. I too, at this moment, am single and the holiday season seems to make that fact ever more apparent to me. I struggle with “why?” I have not met my significant other and have gained a bit of comfort when I realized that God has just not yet introduced me to her! With that thought in mind, it makes it even more exciting to go out or to new places because she might be the next person to whom I say hello!! So for you, continued patience….He has a plan for you and in it includes a “lucky” guy. As I can only tell from your photo, you’ve been blessed with a radiant beauty and an infectious spirit which leaps out from your words…..a combination like that is hard to come by and there are many out there looking for those qualities!! At Christmas, I know it makes it harder without family and friends, but look to those who are your “family away from home” and enjoy some holiday cheer. You made an interesting comment about “Anti-Christmasland” which made me think…make the effort to change that and beyour own small bit of Christmas to people throughout the day. Put up a tree, decorate with lights, sing Jingle Bells on the bus, watch the movie “Elf” with the volume turned way up, make cookies, and more importantly say “Merry Christmas”!!!! Well, that’s it, thanks for your blog, it gave me something to think about over here in the USA!!!

    • moweezle

      Thanks so much for your comment. Finally, a single guy steps forward and speaks on the subject 🙂 Stay tuned, soon I will post pics of my little Christmas tree 🙂 hehehe

  • Joseph

    I cannot imagine doing what you do…but I can tell you that you possess one amazing gift…

    a gift that most of us will never have and even if we did would not have the guts to use it like you have….

    Search out your little nick of Christmas and embrace it. If you need to reach out to us, do so.

    We are totally here for you. We love you and what you do.

    Cool props for “All I want for Christmas is You” A good friend of mine wrote that piece and originally recorded it with Vince Vance in Jackson MS when I was in the music industry. He thanks you for the shout out!!

  • Pam

    Maureen, Hang in there! You know you are right where God wants you so he will put someone in your path that is just right for you. My Mom always told me…”there are some things worse than being single”…

  • Joyful

    Bless you. It must be hard this time of year.
    Sometimes I think I would love to go to Isreal, but I would have to come back to my family. This year is the first year my Mom & Dad will be apart at Christmas (after 60yrs.). My Dad is in a nursing home & my mom is doing well at her age (80), so she is home alone.

  • Mom

    Some sage advice and encouraging words from others!! You are blessed to have “bloggers” who care enough to speak into your life, so to speak. And Pam’s mom has a good saying there, “there are worse things”… In the hard times we still have blessings to count and gratitude attitudes to display.
    Love you,
    Mom

  • Pablo

    Single but not alone, is not the same. Shalom.

  • Pablo

    I was referring to your family and friends, and specifically to God.

  • Gina

    Hey Maureen, Big hugs to you.
    I have a list of things to tell you and then need to go fold a pile of clean laundry that is almost as tall as I am (5″7′). Yes, yikes.

    1. No idea why the holidays are weird for singles…..it’s a crying shame. I remember when I dated my husband ( between the ages of 24-30) it still felt weird that we were just dating and not married and I didn’t even aspire to become married….so it is some strange underlying holiday mind bending technique probably from too many Kay and Zales commercials. Hang in there on that one.

    2. Marriage is incredibly hard. No one ever really can explain this one before marriage. I noticed this one a little over 2 years ago ( I have been married 9 years). The impulse to flee the relationship becomes nearly impossible when children are introduced into the situation because the parent then feels they would rather saw off their left arm than divide their family. There are days when you feel incredibly lonely in your marriage (this has been confirmed by others as well). There are days when you spend time crying and praying quietly and lying on your laundry room floor in the dark while your children unwittingly play happily just outside your laundry room door. Then, after praying to God for months or years for help and the ability to forgive you are able to go back to loving your spouse….

    3. I know of no one like you Maureen. What you do is amazing. You are certainly heaven sent. You will get through these next couple of weeks and you will most certainly find the love of your life and he will be the luckiest guy on earth. I have absolutely no doubt.

    In the meantime, I will pray for you. Keep smiling that pretty smile.

  • chrystiecole

    Trying to catch up on all my blog reading and this one was awesome! I completely relate to your singleness and prayers in this area. I will join you in prayer, my friend. You amaze me with your courage to live and serve in a foreign land. If you ever come to the south, you have a place to lay your head and get a homecooked meal. I am so glad to have met you through the blogosphere. I think you have an amazon wishlist. Will you please email me the link?

  • alece

    i’m learning what it means to be alone but not lonely. gonna take me a while to funny grasp that and live that out, but… i’m workin’ on it.

Leave a Reply

