In Memory of Katherine

There are few people that become a part of your life and remain there until the end. Those special few that know each and every secret you possess….those special few that you can call on no matter what, and they will answer…those special few that love you unconditionally, regardless of what you’ve done or will do.

For me, Katherine was one of those special ones.

We met while I was living in Brazil, I cannot even remember which year, and instantaneously we became the best of friends.  We’ve been through so much together since then…boyfriend breakups, heartaches, traveling, weddings (one of them being hers), road trips, laughter, joy, and all the other things that accompanies friendships.

Every time I came home to the States on furlough, Katherine was one of the first people I would call.  Just hearing her voice on the phone and her crazy, contagious laugh would brighten my day.  She was one of the first who would always send me notes, cards, and packages in the mail. She always told me how much she loved me and was proud of me.  She encouraged me with scriptures all the time. I loved her more than words can express.

Katherine passed away from breast and bone cancer this past week, only 29 years old, and 5 months pregnant. It was a sudden and tragic situation, one that left many of us who loved her shocked.  She left behind an amazing husband and one-year old boy, both of whom she loved with all her heart!

Even though I know, without a shadow of a doubt, my dear Katherine is in heaven today, enjoying our Abba Father, thoughts of her still cause the tears to flow down my cheeks.  So, in memory of one of the best friends I have ever had the pleasure of enriching my life, here are some of those memories that I will cherish until we meet again….

The last two pictures are with her husband, Jared and little Nathan Charles Bowman.  Please keep them in your prayers, as they will miss their wife and mommy sooooo much!!!

Katherine: you were a wonderful woman, wife, mother, sister, daughter, photographer… and to me, most of all you were the bestest of friends!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

36 responses to “In Memory of Katherine

  • Spence

    Hi Mo… I’m so so sorry for your loss. one of my dearest friends died of cancer and i got to walk through so much of it with he and his wife. i know it hurts and there are no real good answers… even the “God is in control” answer never really feels comforting because in the end… loss just sucks.

    so… my heart goes out to you and her family. Love those memories you have of her, cry when you want to, miss here all you want and never regret a moment. We are given emotions for a reason so feel free to have at it…

    then… when you get up and think about your day… make sure you live every moment as much as you can… because you can.

    thanks for the post and your love for your friends…

    spence.

  • Tim Picking

    Praying for you as well as Jared and Nathan Charles. I am really saddened by Katherine’s story and touched by the relationship you had. I feel like I missed out not knowing your friend and it seems your life is richer because you did. Thank you for sharing your heart and your friendship!

  • Kelly Moses

    what a wonderful tribute to your friend.
    I continue to pray for you while you grieve this heartbreaking loss.

  • chrystiecole

    Mo, I am so sorry for your loss. I will be praying for you and her family. This was a beautiful tribute to her. Sending cyber hugs your way from across the pond!

  • Grace Kaleda

    Dear Maureen…..I was deeply touched by your tribute to Katherine. What a blessing to have had such a precious friend to share your life and trials with. I know that there is nothing that can take the pain from your heart right now….it is a season that you must walk through leaning on the everlasting arms.

    The pain of separation that you and her family are feeling is not something that can be prayed away, reasoned away or turned away….for the measure of pain in your heart in a way is a direct reflection of the measure of love that you’ve shared for her and with her. It is good to grieve, Mo. God gave us emotions so that we can express the depths of our hearts….both the depths of love and of grief.

    It will take time for this wound to heal. And, you can be assured that God Himself wants to dress that wound. He wants to be the tender hands that bring comfort and healing and hope. Trust His hands and His love and know that one day the pain will subside and in it’s place will emerge new strength.

    Praying for you in the days and weeks and months ahead…and praying for Jared and Nathan Charles. May the grace of God sustain you all in ways you have never experienced before and may His presence be your comfort and your strength.

  • LaRissa Kemp

    When Jesus went to the tomb of a dear friend, he wept. I think he still weeps about the pain that death brings his children.

    At 17, I lost my brother- my best friend- praying that the God that held me in His arms and refused to let go will hold you and will hold your friend’s family.

    Praying.

    LaRissa

  • Mom

    I knew that you would do a great job in expressing your emotions and friendship with Katherine. Tears again! Does make you long for heaven when we will no longer have to deal with the hurting emotions as well as the positive.
    Love you so much and keep praying for you!!

  • Dad

    “Many waters cannot quench love, nor will rivers overflow it.” The grieving of our hearts and the expression of our emotions, is an expression of the heart of our heavenly Father who grieves over the death of His children. What joy there will be in heaven when we are reunited.

    I am so thankful for the friendship that you and Katherine formed and how that friendship impacted both her and your life. The joyous memories that you two shared are wonderful treaures that are stored for eternity.

    I pray that the God of all comfort will bring healing to your heart and bind all the wounds.

    Thank you for sharing your heart and emotions that our hearts can be forged together.

  • Gina

    I am so sorry for your loss Maureen,
    Life is so unfair sometimes.
    My love and prayers to you and her beautiful family.

  • Pam

    Maureen, I’m so sorry for your loss and for Jared and Nathan Charles. I’m praying for you all.

  • Tim

    Lots of prayers and thoughts for you and her family.

  • chaim

    so, so sorry for your loss. it’s just beyond words. please know you have friends here, who care about you, if you ever need anything during this difficult time.

    my deepest, deepest condolences.

  • Sarah W

    So sorry to hear about your friend. 😦 That is so sad…..so young! You did a great job honoring her on your blog and I know she’s smiling down on you! Hugs!

  • Theresa

    A very Beautiful Tribute. May your heart heal.

  • Carter Strand

    Thanks for you tribute to Katherine. She was just as you described. The Katherine you know is the Katherine that she was her whole life. I am fortunate to be her cousin, and I will miss her dearly. She lived faithfully for the Lord, and she served well. Her funeral was today. I needed more Katherine, so I read her blog, which led me to yours. Thanks for the happy photos you posted. I REALLY needed some happy Katherine photos.

  • Allison

    Hi Maureen~
    I know we don’t know each other, but we met briefly at Katherine and Jerod’s wedding.

    I went to high school with Katherine and accompanied her
    on several road trips and adventures. Together we had conversations of unbelievable depth, especially as we discovered and developed our relationship with God. Katherine gave us all so much that it’s hard imagine her laugh disappearing from this Earth. I know she’s in a better place with Isabella Faith in her arms and the rest of us in her heart.

    I just wanted to thank you for your post, I couldn’t have worded it better myself. She always spoke of you with such love and adoration.

    Thank you so much and God bless,
    Allison Tigges

  • Corey Landon

    Maureen,
    I am so sorry for your loss. My son, Bryan, passed away 2 weeks ago and while the situatons may be different, I can empathize with the feelings of both sadness at missing someone we loved and in the joy in knowing that they are with our Heavenly Father. What a beautiful tribute to your friendship and Katherine’s life. My prayeres are with you. Corey

  • @ngie

    Maureen thank you for giving us this brilliant glimpse into the wonderful friendship you and Katherine shared. May God hold your heart close at this time. Peace be to you.

  • jon

    I’m so sorry mo. Your post was a beautiful way of expressing the friendship you shared and preserving the memories you had with her. May God continue to comfort those who knew and loved her.

  • moweezle

    Thank you so much everyone for your love and support!!!!

  • Jane

    Mo,

    Thank you so much for your tribute to Katherine.
    I am the wife of Jerod’s best friend and I too needed more Katherine today. Even though Jerod and Katherine had only been married 3 years, I looked to them sometimes as a role model, their love for each other and God was evident in everything they did. My heart breaks for Jerod and Nathan and all of us who were blessed to know her.

    Jane

  • Bill Todd

    Thanks for sharing this with us. Thanks for sharing your heart. To love deeply and to be loved in return – there is no greater gift that we can give.

  • Erik Olson

    I stumbled across this as I was looking at her blog and photos she’s taken. She always had a great smile and it made me smile again to see her pics in your tribute. Very nice. thanks. I will miss my cousin. She was one of the finest people I know.

  • donna o

    I have no words—just prayers :0(…

  • wendy bowman

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful memories with us. Katherine was my sister in law. I was blessed to have her in my life and grateful for every moment. She was beautiful inside and out. While I have many tears, I also am comforted that she is with her god now and waiting for jerod’s arrival someday so they can share in the birth of my niece, isabella faith. We were all touched by katherine. She was a rare kind! She also turned jerod’s life around..he found god again and his soulmate. I am forever grateful to her and god. I am sending you hugs, as I know katherine would’ve done if she could. God bless you.

  • Jill

    My prayers are with you and Katherine’s family tonight Mo. Close your eyes, I’m giving you a hug now..

  • I made it… « Mo’s Marathon

    […] the swine flu, family issues, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Chanukah, relationship ups and downs, loosing a dear friend, and everything else the comes in […]

  • Terri Miller

    Thank you so much for the lovely tribute. I live in the same community Katherine did…she always knew my name. She always greeted me with an amazing smile and said, “Hi, Terri!” like she was really glad to see me. That is unique and lovely. She is missed here.

    I pray that your heart is comforted. I am thankful we have hope in Christ!

  • joseph

    Mo, this is tough. What an amazing friend she was to you.

    Prayers go out to you and her family…

    I do not even know her and this hurts.

  • Brenda Meyers

    Wow! This is a WONDERUL tribute to Katherine. She was a AMAZING person! She touched SOOO many lives in her short time here on Earth.
    I didn’t know her personally but I was friends/family to people that were around her quite often and she even touched our lives through them.
    Our thoughts and prayers go out to her family/friends and may God comfort them through these trying times.

  • Susan

    What a beautiful tribute for your friend!

  • sheila

    That was a very nice and beautiful tribute! Just wonderful!

  • annie

    Oh Mo!!! My heart cries for you. And them. Such loss. Although it is not a permanent loss, it is a loss none-the-les, and I know a bit of the depth of such an ache. Father, comfort all who knew her with Your peace, and reassure their hearts against the coming days without their Katherine. Amen.

  • alece

    my eyes filled with tears just reading this. i’m so sorry for your loss, mo. wish i could give you a hug.

  • FaithBarista Bonnie

    Hi Maureen – I’m catching up here. I’m SO sorry. That is so sad seeing the beautiful pictures of your friendship and the gorgeous life and family she had. It was so sad you all lost her at 5 months with baby. I’m heartbroken for everyone, but know you all have God to carry your tears through. I can’t wait to meet her in heaven with you.

  • Carla

    Maureen,
    I am not sure if you will remember but we have only met one time when we were both in Kat’s wedding party.

    Despite the fact that it’s been three weeks since she has gone to spend her eternal life with our Savior, today was the first day I could bring myself to read this blog. I found such comfort through your words and kept smiling through my tears.

    It’s hard for me not to be selfish that she is no longer here with us in our temporary lives on earth. But God has given me peace in that she is now in her pain-free body in heaven with Isabella Faith watching (while laughing) Jarrod and Nathan as today is his first birthday.

    Thank you again for your comforting words.

Leave a Reply

