Being Dream-Haunted by Facebook

Let me first make a blanket statement: I really do love facebook.  I love that it is such an easy way to keep in touch with all my faraway friends.  I love how I can see friends’ pictures’ that I would never see otherwise.  I love that I am back in touch with friends I haven’t talked to in ages.  And, I love that pretty much my entire graduating class from high school is on facebook. I’m amazed when I find out where they’ve been in life or what they’ve been through.  It’s been fun catching up.

So with all this reuniting of long-lost friendships comes a crazy phenomenon that I would never have imagined: I”m being dream-haunted.

I am not kidding you when I say that for the past few weeks or so, I have had dreams every night about people from my past.  Don’t get me wrong…I adore my friends from high school, but dreaming about them every night is just a bit weird.  I feel like I’ve been thrown back into the past as if no time has elapsed at all.  Its been 17 years since I graduated high school, yet when I go into that REM stage, its like were just hanging out yesterday.

I’m sure Freud would have something to say about my crazy dreams of late, but I think its just an overload in my brain of my past colliding with my present… the person I was and the person I’ve become… the gelling together of two completely different stages of my life.

Louco!

Anyone else out there being dream-haunted or am I the only one infected???

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

13 responses to “Being Dream-Haunted by Facebook

  • Bethany

    I don’t dream about facebook, but I have dreamed about blogging! I posted about it not too long back on my blog.
    Isn’t Follow Friday great! I am a new follower, and look forward to reading lots more of your great posts!
    Bethany

    Stop by and say hi!

  • Michelle G

    LOL, nope, I’m not a trampling hippo! haha Have a beautiful day!

  • nancy

    time
    travels
    on in the light of day
    yet in our dreams
    we
    travel

  • Jill

    Aren’t dreams crazy!?!?! I just had a dream my family showed up on my doorstep and for the entire night I hung out with them, we talked, laughed, ate! It was fabulous. I hope you’re keeping a dream journal…I’m fascinated by dreams…..as well as the fortune’s that come in the cookies from cheap Chinese take out but that’s an entirely different issue! ha ha ha

  • Becca

    I think our dreams are often just things from our day!

  • Joseph

    oh no…thanks a million Mo!..now I am going to have that “only in my underwear” at school dream.

  • sheila

    over from follow friday (finally, lol) I don’t link up on FB with a lot of people from HS. I’ve seen a few in the 25 yrs since, and OMG, what goofy people, lol.

  • Brett Barner

    Sorry, not me. I did dream about eating Facebook once. Like I peeled it off my monitor and ate it like a fruit roll up.

    Don’t ask me what that means, I just dream it. 🙂

  • FaithBarista Bonnie

    omg. that was totally me a the beginning of facebook. and still am. i am somewhat afraid to look through the “friend” recommendations. Lord, help me.

  • adventofmessiah

    Dreams… today I looked at a picture on facebook of some friends of mine and me singing in our high school talent show. I wonder if I’ll dream about that tonight. I guess sometimes we are processing things in our unconscious mind that we are still sorting out while conscious. I would imagine sometimes the unconscious mind is more free to go places than our conscious mind. It is helpful sometimes to reinterpret our meaning and value from events and encounters from younger years as a more mature adult as opposed to our adolescent perceptions. (1 Corinthians 13:11)

    It is interesting to me that when God spoke to Mary prior to the birth of Christ he sent the angel Gabriel to speak with her. But when He had a message for Joseph (Mary’s fiancee and later husband) He spoke to him in dreams. As you know, God spoke to many others in dreams Joseph, Pharaoh, King Nebuchadnezzar and Pilots wife just to name a few.

Leave a Reply

