Everyday Miracles…an update on ‘T’

Some time ago (last August, actually) I wrote about my homeless friend, T, and his battle with alcoholism and life in general.  (Click here for the re-cap)  Many of you had been praying for him and his journey into rehab.  Well, it didn’t quite work out back then.  He made excuses, went down, and came right back to the streets.  He didn’t come around as often, and I’m sure it was due to disappointment he had in himself….

That was last year, and no one had seen or heard from him in months.

The past month or so T has really been on my ❤ like crazy.  I asked around to see if anyone knew anything about him, and I found nothing.  I went to all his usual locations, and nothing. I was seriously worried and knew the only thing I could do was pray.

This past week at soup kitchen, the exact same day I had asked a friend if she had heard anything about T, there was a most pleasant surprise awaiting us.  T was there!  Not only was he there, but he was sober… ONE MONTH SOBER!!!  He looked good and healthy.  For the past month, he has been down in Ashdod, at the rehab he was originally supposed to go to, but didn’t.  Because he was doing so well, they let him come up for the day and visit us.

I cannot even begin to tell you how excited I was to hear this news…the tears were even falling.  The cool thing is that in a couple weeks I plan on going down there to visit him at the rehab, to show my support and how proud of him I am. They are even letting him use a phone, so we can call and encourage him whenever we can.

You might not think this is a miracle in the sense of the Red Sea being parted…but if you knew T and the life that he was leading, you wouldn’t hesitate to see this as one.  I call it one of God’s everyday miracles because they are happening all around us…. you just have to be willing to see them.

(Please continue to keep T in your prayers…he’s doing well, but the battle has only begun.)

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

7 responses to “Everyday Miracles…an update on ‘T’

  • JR

    What a tremendously uplifting story. thanks for sharing it Mo. Amazing that an everyday miracle can affect people thousands of miles away. I pray T stays in the path of soberness and continues to make strides in improving his life.

  • Chrystie

    Mo, I love this! Thanks for sharing. It is a miracle. And his journey has only just begun, but you can tell him that it is a whole lot easier to stay sober than it is to get sober. It does get easier! I will be praying for him!!!

  • annie

    Hooray!!!

    My sister just e-mailed yesterday of an “Ordinary Miracle,” so it’s wonderful to see one again here! My mom wrote a little book called “Ordinary Miracles” based on life in our family and ways she saw God move, which is where Katie got the title from. 🙂 I’m SO glad for you and T for such a wonderful turn of events and a marvelous praise report. Praise God!

  • Mom

    Great posting! Love to hear victory reports, big or small!!

  • David Cook

    Reaching out to those who are cast away from society is pure and undefiled religion. As it is written in the Tanakh; “Is it not to deal thy bread to the hungry, and that thou bring the poor that are cast out to thy house? when thou seest the naked, that thou cover him, and that thou hide not thyself from thine own flesh?” Isaiah 58:7 JPS

  • joseph

    That is AWESOME!

    Rooting for T.

  • My phone call with ‘T’ « Mo's Mission…

    […] My phone call with ‘T’ By moweezle If you’ve been following along on my blog, you might recall me writing about my friend, T.  If you haven’t, or you need a refresher, here’s a quick reminder: (everyday miracles) […]

Leave a Reply

