Moving day… Again?!?

Last years moving day

It’s already been a week since my last post, yet I feel like I wrote it yesterday.  The same can be said for life right now…its just flying by!  It’s been a crazy, busy week.  There are many factors to this, but the biggest is: I’M MOVING THIS WEEKEND!

Preparations for the move have been causing a bit of stress and anxiety, but what is life without a little excitement?!?

  • As of this moment (Friday morning at 11:28) the workers are JUST beginning to paint.  They still have to install the gas lines and the bathroom amenities.  I move in Sunday. Tomorrow is Shabat. I’m a little nervous.
  • Since I’m a foreigner, I have to pay everything with cash.  This means lots of trips to ATM’s and wouldn’t you know it, this week none of them seemed to work! :/
  • (I won’t even go into detail about the hell I’ve been experiencing with my credit card issues)
  • PACKiNG! … enuf said there

But all these things don’t hold a candle to the one thing I hate most about moving. Since its only a trip across the city, I am just sorta putting stuff in boxes and bags, not really caring about organization.  (My dad would NOT be pleased if he saw my methods this time.) After all, I will just be unpacking everything the next day. Noooo, the one thing I hate most is the cleaning.  Its a never-ending process when moving.

You have to clean the old place before you leave….. you have to clean the new place before you unpack stuff… and you have to clean everywhere else that you’ve been neglecting throughout the year (like under the bed).  YUCK! I hate it!

So, this has been what I’ve been doing with my free time this past week.

What do u hate most about moving?

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

12 responses to “Moving day… Again?!?

  • Traci

    UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGGGG moving!

  • judi

    Mo – PTL you’re finally able to move in. We just [prayed for you Thurs. night that you could move sooner than later and here you go!! Just think how CLEAN your new place will be and how thankful you are for it! Praying Kim gets to join you there SOON. She shares with our church body this Sunday (your moving day). God bless, Judi

  • Mom

    Funny. I would help you clean if I was there. While JOhn and Dad were loading and unloading, I was cleaning- dusting, cleaning baseboards, washing the floors, etc. Bec asked me why I was doing all of that. I replied, “well I was taught that you cleaned a place before you move.” It was a little deja vous for me. Brought back memories when I cleaned Kristy’s apt when they moved to the house. And then I was upset that they withheld some from the deposit due to some issues. I guess that unless you’re like the few that live in the same place for 40 years, moving is a part of life. It’s just that you’re in the small percentage who move half way around the world and from continent to continent!!
    Waiting to see pictures and the updates as you put your special touch on the place God has given to you.

    • moweezle

      I wish u were here to help clean! Remember when you guys moved me back from AZ to MI and dad “re-packed” all my previous packing efforts??? hehehe I remember you cleaning the apt. then too 🙂

  • Joseph

    Easy. I hate all the stuff I lose in Falafel containers. Oh no, wait….that’s you 🙂

  • Joseph

    a Falafel song for you.

    • moweezle

      ahhhhhh. cracking up here 🙂 So, after the big move I just HAD to get falafel 🙂 I now live by the BEST falafel place in all of Tel Aviv…no joke. It is busy 24/7…. run by the nicest Arab family. You know I’ll be there all the time! hehehehhee

  • alece

    so excited for you — and wish i could be there to help with all the packing, cleaning, moving, etc.

    praying for you, friend.

  • annie

    Haha! You sound even more like me! Definitely the cleaning. 😀

Leave a Reply

