End of Week Update

This week has been a crazy one, and I haven’t even thought of blogging. or reading blogs. So here I am, trying to catch up.

Sunday: I moved all my stuff to the new place.  It wasn’t even close to being finished, but I had to move it from the old place. Sometimes schedules don’t mesh, and this was one of them.  I ended up sleeping on the couch at my old place for the night.  Also, a housewarming party for an ex-flatmate, who moved to an amazing place.

Monday: After a few bus trips back and forth with the rest of my personal stuff, I moved into the new place in the one room that was finished.  It was chaos and mess (still is) but I thought, “if I can live in tents in Africa for weeks at a time, I can do this.” (hmmmm, I’m wanting to take that thought back)

Tuesday: The workers continue to come but make baby-step progress. I’m starting to get used to the new bus routes and routines, and being the only white person in the area again is reminding me of being back in Africa.

Wednesday: It literally breaks 100 degrees so the workers only work at night.  6-midnight. Which means that I also need to be out of the place in order to preserve my sanity.  I end up staying up till 1:30 am talking with Alex, one of the Russian workers, about life in Israel versus Russia versus The States. Little sleep and loss of patience is not boding well with me.

Thursday: V.P. Joe Biden comes to Tel Aviv, and through school I am invited to see him speak. Why is it that when important people speak they blast the air conditioning and freeze out everyone else in the place?  We’re the ones sitting and waiting for 3 hours!

Friday: As I type this there is scraping and hammering going on in the next room.  They are telling me it will be done tonight, though I don’t quite see how.  I’m sooooo ready to get my life organized again.  Scrounging through bags/suitcases looking for something to wear everyday is tiring, and I still haven’t found my box of nail polish.  How can a girl live without her nail polish???

Thank God its the Weekend!!!!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

6 responses to “End of Week Update

  • adventofmessiah

    Not knowing where the basic stuff is can be frustrating and can tend to throw one off balance for a while whether you are moving across the world, the country, the state, the city or another room in the house. You’ve done that a few times before.

    In time the chaos will turn into organization…one box at a time one pile at a time, one day at a time, here a little there a little and then it becomes your new temporary home… even if you are there for ten years because this life itself is soooo temporary.

    You have a million dollar smile and you do “shine” with a nice glow so I would not worry about the nail polish.

    I hope you sleep well on Shabat or can at least take a long nap while all the workers are not around.

    Shalom.

  • Joseph

    I hate moving…really really hate moving

  • timothysmith0044

    Wow, what a crazy week. I got very tired just thinking about it. Sounds like everything is coming into shape though. Keep smiling!

  • Jill

    Ditto on hating to move! But hang in there, one day at a time… And find that polish! A freshcoat of nail polish always makes a girl feel better! :)) Send me your new addresss when you get a minute..thanks.

  • Theresa

    This made me smile.

    Praying the work is done!

Leave a Reply

