35.

I’ve been writing a birthday blog since I started blogging and when I sat down to write it this year, I could only really dwell upon all the things I haven’t accomplished yet.  I thought by my 35th birthday I’d be married, have kids, salaried job, and settled down.  35 was always my ‘goal’ year….

Yet here I am… 35… and none of those things have happened.

THEN I remembered one birthday, down in Rio, and I began to think about all the things I have accomplished, things that were never on my list to begin with.  I thought of where I’d been and who I’ve been with.  All the people who have been a part of my 35 years, near and far.  I have been sooooooo very blessed these past 35 years, no matter what hasn’t happened.

So just for kicks, I’ve put together a list of all the places I’ve spent my birthdays.  I might not have accomplished my list YET, but I’ve sure had some fun in the meantime…..

  • New York
  • Minnesota
  • Michigan
  • Florida
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Mexico
  • Canada
  • Brasil
  • Botswana
  • Namibia
  • South Africa
  • Israel

Can’t wait to see where next will be….

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

20 responses to “35.

  • @ngie

    That is an awesome list! I love that you spelled Brasil with an ‘s’ – like it is supposed to be :).

  • Joseph

    Happy Birthday.
    It is so easy to look at what should have been or what I had planned, but the best part of life is what is now and what will happen we don’t know about.
    I have spent a ton of my life reaching for things I thought I wanted, and now that I have reached them realized it made me no happier.

    Love that you are celebrating what is.

    You are awesome, do amazing things in this world, and deserve a very Happy Birthday.

    Now grab some falafel and celebrate.

  • Mom

    Love the positive slant on “35”! Great perspective. You’ve done so much and still so much to come!! And you have been blessed with so many people and friends that you have met along the way. Your FB b’day comments are proof of that. You are loved!

  • Jon Zondervan

    Happy Birthday Mo and I think you are an amazing inspiration!!!! Keep doing what God’s called you to do and you don’t look a day over 34 to me=)

  • BcBuckeye

    First off….Happy Birthday and instead of a 2nd bowl of popcorn, go for the second glass of wine-hopefully something in the red family!!

    Second, I have to say that I appreciate and understand your perspective on your birthday. I have asked myself those same questions about my “list”, but your views challenged me to take that same angle..Thanks!!

    And on this birthday, I lift a shot glass to you and your mission!!(What kind of shot would they give you over there?) And for you:

    “It takes a long time to grow young.” – Pablo Picasso

  • David Cook

    Life is a funny thing, some wives who have been married ten years or so and know for sure that the honey moon is over and the wall of non-communication has slowly built up over the years. Plus he is working 65-75 hours a week trying desperately to keep his salaried job in this changing economy. He plays mens softball on Friday nights, watches Monday nite football on TV, and he is still acting like a teenager playing video games when there are many things to do around this house. He is either falling asleep on the couch, eating or wanting to have s-x. She is not sure if he really even cares about her at all and things in her world. She may have one or two children at her feet, one in her arms and still nursing and tripping over toys. She may have some of the postpartum blues. At times she thinks; “I wish I could have some meaningful adult communication, I wish I could get out of this house and go and do something really exciting for a change!” “Like have no one I answer to for a change, and just fly off to New York, Florida, Arizona, California, Mexico, Canada, Brasil, Botswana, Namibia, South Africa, or Israel and visit some the places I’ve read about in the Bible.” “I wish I could do something different, like study a foreign language abroad or something really significant that I could really feel good about; helping the poor and needy in an overseas country and in my wildest dreams maybe even do both.”

  • Jill

    Happy Birthday again MO!!!!! You have accomplished so much and are an inspiration to so many. Hope you had a great day!!!!

  • Dennis

    Your life to 35 has not been a Sprint, it has been, as you say, a monumental “marathon”. I was thinking of all the cool things you have done, the wonders you have seen, the one of a kind places you have been, and of course, the kindness you have shared all before the young age of 35. I admire that about you, and I feel that this is just one part of many unique qualities that you possess. In fact, I thought of you and your travels when I recently met this very nice older lady. At first she seemed like any other sweet old lady. She lives in a tiny ramshackle of a house, wears glasses from 30 years ago (she is almost 90) and at first glance, you would not realize that she was wealthy or a world traveler. She does not have to look back and say, I wish I would have, because she did. I would have never guessed that this little lady had traveled all over the world and had been to many out of the way, not your typical vacation destination type places. Sounds a lot like someone I know. It also made me realize that at the age of 36 how much I have not seen, or done. I think that we all try to predict where life will take us, and sometimes we are pretty close, and many times we are way off. That’s what makes life a journey,( or as you say a marathon), and not a quick sprint in which you let things pass by in a blur. I think that it is great that you have taken the unpredictable course in life. That is what makes you unique. Love ya Mo!

  • donna o

    Happy belated birthday! 35 is a great year! So is 36…and 37…and even the big 40 when we walk with the Lord and see the glory He sheds on our way!

  • alece

    i can’t believe how much i’ve missed over here… including your birthday! i know it’s been a hard few weeks since then, but i hope your day was memorable and special in some way.

    i love you, mo! happy (very late) birthday!

  • Chrystie

    Wow! I can’t believe I missed your birthday either. How in the world did that happen? I am continuing to pray for you. Hope your week has gotten better!

Leave a Reply

