Church Bells or Hell’s Doorstep

My mom recently sent me this quote by a Doctor who works in Bangladesh with Samaritan’s Purse, and it’s stuck with me since:

Some yearn to live within the sound of a church bell.  I’d rather run a rescue mission within a yard of hell.

Wow! Can this guy read my heart or what?!?

As most of you know, these past months have been difficult for me.  I’ve been honest with my struggles, even blogging about some of them.  Life, no matter where you live, or what you do, isn’t always easy.

But, here’s a little secret: I wouldn’t trade mine for anything.

I can’t tell you the last time I actually heard church bells, or anything even close.  I hear the call of prayer at mosques more than often, and as far as living within a yard of hell….well, mine’s more like a meter.  AND it’s right where I’m meant to be!

I can relate to this statement with every breath I take.

So through thick and thin, the good and the bad, the beauty and the ugly…I have to admit… I still choose life within a meter of hell than life within the sound of a church bell.

It’s where I’m meant to be!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

12 responses to “Church Bells or Hell’s Doorstep

  • jon Zondervan

    We’re praying for you Mo, Keep doing exactly what God’s called you to do!! One of my favorite quotes is the very first line of the book “Jesus mean and wild” and it says,

    “God loves you, and has a difficult plan for your life”—Keep the Faith=)

  • BcBuckeye

    Mo,

    Nice perspective on this and from the time I’ve gotten to know you through your blogs, it is that optimism/outlook which feed the fire to your mission. It attracts others and let’s them know things are gonna work out! In actuality, it is at this dark doorstep that, at this moment, a spiritual battle is being waged…and even more now than ever in history, Jesus needs us to sharpen our faithful swords in his honor. Keep up the great work Mo—-the world needs it!! Be Safe..

    Bcbuckeye

  • David Cook

    May the protection spoken of in Psalms 91 be with you always!

  • Brett

    Mo, I think one of the greatest problems these days is that people have become complacent and like the comfort zone. They sit in their church, listen to the bells, get all warm and fuzzy and think that is what it is about to be a Christian. They hide themselves away from the battlezone and say “that is someone else’s job”. Hmmmm, guess again!!

    Being a Christian doesn’t end after the service ends on Sunday morning. Each and every Christian needs to be in the trenches… because that is what the Bible tells us to go… that is what Jesus commanded us to do in Matt 28:19-20.

    The world is our battlefield. Not only physically but spiritually. As Christians, our goal is to run that “rescue mission” to share the Kingdom of God and the Love of Christ. To teach the lost the truth…. before the make a decision that sends them to Hell.

    This is the motto of Bikers for Christ… we wear that quote written out on a patch worn on our vests. We are in the trenches sharing Jesus with the biker community.

    Each person has their own “community” where they are called to serve, share, have influence. It is at work, as part of a sport, a book club, etc. We should all be out there “within that yard of hell”… trying to prevent them from walking into the pit!

    Mo, thanks for being in the trenches! God will without a doubt bless you abundantly for faithfully being where He wants you to be!

  • Rebecca

    i totally agree with you…there is nothing better then being where you are meant to be, even though it’s stinkin hard some times. but i think that is just life…

    i love hearing your passion for what you do. we are lucky to be living what we were made for, i’ve come to realize it’s a rare thing.

  • pablo

    You can plant a church in the yard of hell with a bell.

  • JamesBrett

    i agree with the sentiment and find myself in a (somewhat) similar situation here in tanzania. may God bless you so that you may bless others.

    and just for the record, i recognize that quote as belonging to C. T. Studd (yeah, i know, awesome name). he was a british missionary to china (and maybe india also?) in the late 1800’s or sometime around then. i wouldn’t quote me on this, but i think he gave up a professional career in cricket to become a missionary.

  • @ngie

    This is awesome! It reminds me of that saying that goes, “Where is the safest place in the world? Smack dab in the center of God’s will.” You are amazing, Maureen. Thanks for letting have a glimpse into your unique and passionate heart.

  • Jessica Gavin

    This is just what I needed to hear today. I’ve been struggling with the possibility that God’s call for my life may not necessarily be within the vicinity of church bells and it’s a scary thing to be called out of your comfort zone! What you do is so inspiring! Thank you for sharing your faith!

  • Katie

    So good! Funny how two short sentences can put things in perspective.

  • school bells

    The sound of bell is the start of a new day!Our house is located near the church,every time I hear the bell it reminds me to start the day with energy and full of strength to carry what the day will bring into my life.

Leave a Reply

