Are You Out There?

We’re inundated with it since childhood, the concept of true love.

Snow White sings, “Someday my Prince will come”…

Cinderella is rescued by her Prince Charming and lives happily ever after….

Even Sleeping beauty’s Prince appears from her dream world into reality to wake her…

And we wonder why as little girls we grow up with the concept of finding our one true love.

The truth is that I think I used to believe in it too.  Its been so long, and I will admit that after broken relationships I’ve become a little jaded about the concept of “one true love”.  At this point I’m just wondering if there is even someone compatible out there for me.

I’ve been told endless times that God has the perfect one for me, and as much as I want to believe it, the truth is that I just don’t know if I do.  Maybe my faith is running low.  Maybe doubts have taken over.  Maybe I’ve lived in the fallen world too long…or maybe its all three.  I struggle with that statement everyday that passes.

So, I will end this post with the question I proposed in the title:

Are You Out There?

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

17 responses to “Are You Out There?

  • ksa

    I have asked some of these same question and every time I come back to: “Even if He choices not send my Prince Charming, yet will I still praise Him”. I like the picture of the frog by the way.

  • notjustlaura

    I spent a long time believing there was one true love for me. Then I spent a long time trying to find him. Then I gave up. And now I’m twice as happy as I ever was when I was looking. I don’t think it’s God’s plan for every woman to marry. I don’t think it’s God’s plan for *me* to marry. And it’s taken a long time but I’m happy with that.

    I don’t know what His plan might be for you but I do know how much the waiting hurts. So here are (((hugs))). And please know you’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  • LaRissa

    You’re a step ahead in the game if you are looking for someone who is compatible. A best friend. That is definitely what makes a lasting marriage. I think Disney movies confused all of us about true love 🙂

  • David Cook

    There is a Prince who is deeply in love with you, so much so that He was willing to sacrifice His life for you. Someday He will return on the clouds with great power and glory and take His Bride away into the clouds. He will then ride in on a white steed followed by an army outfitted in white and defeat the Dragon and all those under his evil spell.

    Linda Ronstadt & James Ingram – “Somewhere Out There” (Subtítulos Español)

  • JamesBrett

    i think you’re on the right track with the someone compatible thought. and even then, i think a successful marriage has a lot more to do with each individual’s expectations than it does compatibility. i think the “one true love” idea is a large part of what’s gotten our nation where it is in terms of adultery, divorce, unhappiness, and even cohabitation. everybody goes in thinking they’ve found their one true love — and inevitably every one of them later questions it. so they search elsewhere.

    so i hate to sound negative and passionless, but i doubt God has the one perfect guy for you. we don’t find him having that anywhere in scripture for anyone else. and the idea, when you look at it objectively, sounds pretty fairy-talish — that’s because it is.

  • David Cook

    James I agree with you that “unrealistic expectations” is a common problem in the USA for sure. I can think of man in the Bible who found his “one true love”, or at least had a “match made in heaven”. We read about Isaac and Rebecca where Abraham’s servant prayed that God would guide him to find a suitable wife for Isaac. Circumstantially, Rebecca was the answer to his prayer. Undoubtedly I would image that both Abraham and Isaac were also praying although Moses does not indicate this in Genesis. But we know that Isaac and Rebecca had their differences especially in the area of child raising they were not on the same page with Jacob and Essau. In the New Testament though I can not really think of an example of “one true love” but we are commanded to walk in love. The focus is more on “being the right person” and living an other centered life. The apostle Paul tells us in 1 Corinthians 7 to only marry someone who is a believer in our Lord Jesus and not to be “unequally yoked”.

    • moweezle

      David…u hit the nail right on the head with your last statement. Finding someone who is not “unequally yoked” over here is like finding a needle in a haystack 😉

  • Bcbuckeye

    Mo…

    First things first, not sure what is wrong with all the Israelis over there….but they must not be into blond, intelligent, and attractive women like yourself! Also, with your passion for all that is sports, some guy is gonna strike it rich with you! So I guess what I would offer at this point is what some of my New Zealand friends might say….”No worries, Mo—don’t give it another thought!!” Keep up with all the beautiful things you do each day and then when you turn around, there he’ll be…fascinated by who you are!! Trust me, most of us on this blog are a thousand miles away from you, be we all see it!! It’s all good Mo….keep smiling!!

    P.S. I’d ask you out for a beer tomorrow to catch the Uruguay/Netherlands game, but don’t think
    I have enough gas to make it to Tel Aviv….. !!

  • David Cook

    Mo you’re an international girl, quite the globe trotter! People around the world pick up a good vibe from all you do and from your bloggs; so here is a song for you: “Don’t Worry” | from Artists Around the World http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAjFnJuk1Aw&feature=channel

  • Helen

    Hey Mo,

    I’ve been through my fair share of crappy relationships… longing to be loved… living through most of my friends getting married… thinking will i ever find a person who has the same passion for kids ministry…

    I did not consider myself pretty (I am quite overweight as a matter of fact) and it was hard for me to believe that I will ever find a great man for me.

    The man I was in love with started dating my best friend – only to dump her 2 weeks before their wedding… I resolved to stop trying to find someone and just be happy living my life.

    If it is your heart’s desire to get married (and if this is in God’s will) – He will bring you the right person in the right time.

    I have been happily married for 2 years now… When I first met my future husband, I resolved that I wasn’t going to date him even if he were the last male alive… but through a series of events I happened to see how wonderful he really is

    so… all this to say… your Prince Charming might be out there somewhere…

  • annie

    Awww … I totally understand this.

    I was a boy-crazy girl growing up. In my head, of course. It wasn’t okay to talk about those things. But I like boy after boy after boy back to back from age 6 on. I was always wondering if this one would be the one. In my case I only had to wait ’til I was 24 to find him. But it really did seem like an eternity. And now, of course, having gone through what I have over the 7+ years of our relationship, I can confidently say that while it is nice to have him in my life, marriage is a WHOLE ‘nuther ball of wax.

    I have no idea what’s in your future, so I can’t say with any amount of certainty that “he’s out there.” All I can say is that I identify, and that I wish I could make it better. I mean I’d offer to marry you myself, except that idea has more than one issue with it. Not the least of which is that I might not even be your type. lol. I’ll keep this issue in prayer, my friend. I know how heavy the weight is.

  • Jessica Gavin

    You are soooooo going to find that perfect someone (perfect for you of course)! Call me a hopeless romantic but I read this post and I have absolutely no doubt. I give it less than a year. Call it a hunch. Let me know when you meet him and you can thank me for being right;)

    “Delight yourself in the LORD and He will give you the desires of your heart” Psalm 37:4

Leave a Reply

