Sticks and Stones

“Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me.”

Absolutely UNTRUE!

I don’t know how many times I said that when I was little, but no matter how hard I try to make it true, it just isn’t.

WORDS CAN HURT

And they do.

I wish we would all remember that the next time our words are used against someone else… gossip, rumors, slander, lies, backstabbing…

Cuz its really not fun being on the HURT side of someone’s words.

It just isn’t.

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

7 responses to “Sticks and Stones

  • kim

    😦 So Sorry, my friend .. you’re absolutely right. Praying for you. See you soon! love you, k

  • Joseph

    Amen…I can still recall stupid things said to me years ago that were not nice….crazy how we hold on to that stuff.

  • JamesBrett

    yo, mo. it sounds like you’ve been hurt by words recently? if so, i’m sorry to hear it. will be praying…

  • annie

    I am so sorry your heart has been so hurt. And you are absolutely right. The best quote I have heard I found in the book The Verblly Abusive Relationship (although it was reprinted–I don’t remember who originally said it): “Sticks and stones may break our bones, but words will break our hearts.” SO true!

  • Judi

    I just returned from an amazing vacation (to attend a wedding) in Hawaii! While there, another guest, a strong, knowledgable believer(?), was definitely not in control of her tongue and caused much havoc within her family. Our Lord has much to say about our tongues in the book of James! God bless you, Maureen…love and prayers for you and your ministry.

Leave a Reply

