Silence is Golden

I haven’t been blogging much lately.  I haven’t had much to say.  There’s been a lot on my mind, but it needed to stay there.

This month my blogging has pretty much reflected my life.  I’ve spent a lot of time alone, which in the past would have killed me.  Now I’m beginning to enjoy it, understand it,  even crave it.  Seasons come and go in life, and I like to call this one ‘Silence is Golden‘.

I’m about to embark in a whole new direction, which in and of itself is scary and exciting… but unknown.  I have no idea where it will take me or how it will end, but either way I’m ready to dive in.

I look back and thank God for this time of Silence in my life.  Though it has been painful at times, it’s also shown me SO much of what I’ve needed to see and experience.   It’s prepared me for the upcoming days, when I fear there won’t be much Silence at all. It has given me a glimpse into who I am and who I’ve become.

Thanks for sticking with me, even when my posts have been few and sporadic. We all need moments in life to sit back, listen, reflect, and be Silent.

For me, Silence TRULY is Golden.

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

4 responses to “Silence is Golden

  • Tim

    Always thinking & praying for you! Good luck on your new direction!

  • Joseph

    New direction? Cant wait to hear more.

    I understand the blogging thing…I have found it really tough lately to write because I am knee deep in corporate budgets and they just suck all the energy out of me.

    One day…no more corporate budgets, crazy travel etc and then I can enjoy hopefully writing again.

  • @ngie

    I think often if there will be a season in my life where the silence seeps in…

    It is nothing short of admirable that you are choosing to submit yourself to the evident hand of God in a shape unfamiliar. Your maturity challenges and encourages me.

  • Jessica Gavin

    Silence really is Golden. Whenever I am saying too much (which is pretty much ALWAYS) I am reminded of the silence that great biblical characters experienced in the wilderness. There are times when “being still and knowing that He is God” is needed and I don’t even know how essential it is until I’m right in the middle of a “silent” episode.

    I have always struggled with saying too much, being around too many people, disliking being alone, and then God gave me a job where I needed to work from home and isolate myself a bit. I think it was to show me the beauty and necessity of silence. My own wilderness, I guess. It’s truly an awesome thing.

Leave a Reply

