Our Tasha

This past weekend my family experienced a tremendous loss, our family dog of 12 years, Tasha, passed away.  For those of you who know my family, you know how amazing she was!  We got her as a family Christmas present back in 1998.  She was a tiny little thing as precious as could be.  A few days ago my mom and I were crying together over skype, remembering that time when we would have to shovel a path in the backyard from all the snow, she was just so tiny.

As any family with a dog knows, your dog is a part of that family.  She’s there throughout all the trials and tribulations, waiting at the door or end of the driveway when you pull up, always so happy to see you.  Tasha would always wag her little tail every time anyone would pet her… she LOVED everyone!

Each year, my nephew would make sure Tasha always got a present at Christmas, some flavored bone or doggie biscuits. As I was saying to my mom, I just can’t imagine coming home without her there!

Since most of my life has been living overseas and away from my family, I wasn’t there for the day to day living like the rest of my family, especially my mom and dad; BUT, it never mattered to Tasha, cuz the minute I arrived home there she was so happy to see me… like I was never gone at all.  It was always one of the first things I did when I came home, make sure to see Tasha and give her a huge hug and pet her.  She would get so excited and start sneezing each time.

Even though she was old, and we were expecting it to happen at any time, you never quite realize how it will affect you when the moment comes.  I know there have already been many tears shed over the weekend, and I’m sure the moment I return home for a visit they will flow again.  It just wont be the same hearing my dad jump on his riding lawn mower, without Tasha barking and trying to herd him…. or when we are trying to play tennis and she is barking every time we hit the ball over the net…. or taking her on walks around the pasture and seeing her slow down on the way home because she’s not ready to return.  Her presence will be missed everywhere, and it will take time for it to really sink in.

If anyone has seen Marley and Me, then you have an idea how we are feeling at this moment.  My nephew literally grew up only knowing life with Tasha.  It’s incredible how much joy and happiness a dog can bring into your life….especially one who has been there for 12 years!  My heart is already feeling a hole in it from where Tash’s paw held her place.

I really hope its true…. Do all dogs go to heaven???

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

11 responses to “Our Tasha

  • Mom

    I’ve been waiting for your Tasha blog as I knew you could capture in words what we have felt about her.
    Thanks!! The 2 recent pictures are so her. She was so pretty and lovable!

    • moweezle

      I’ve been waiting to get the older ones on there too… The one with her sleeping on Bec has just got to be the cutest thing! I love all my pics of Tasha, but that last one I think is just beautiful. It was when we were out with the horses and she was watching our every move from the other side of the fence.

      I’m sure this is sooooo difficult for you mom, I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!!

  • sandysays1

    Losing a friend like Tasha is a heart rending experience. My human and I know what you’re going through. See my post, “Goodbye Mr. B…” – We lost a friend of twenty years a year ago and he is still missed daily. Our sympathy to you and your family.
    Sandy
    http://www.Sandysays1.wordpress.com

  • Mom

    I also liked the one with her and Apache with his nose down to her. Didn’t find that one as we quickly looked through the pics we have on the computer.
    Like I heard Dad telling someone, she would mostly lay on the sidewalk in the shade by the barn so when we left or came home, would reach down and give her a quick pat or a few words for her. Funny how it seems so different without her.

  • Judi

    I’m so sorry, Mo. I saw Marley and Me and cried a lot…but it was true to life. The wonderful thing about dogs (I guess all pets but especially dogs) is their UNCONDITIONAL LOVE. That’s what we miss when they’s gone. They are truly gifts from GOD (Dog is GOD spelled backwards!) Has He given us this great love from our pets to show us how we are to love one another??
    Love and prayers for your and family’s comfort, Judi

  • Joseph

    Mo I am so sad for you, your Mom and your family. AND YES….I am certain Tasha is in Heaven.

    There is no way that a family member that is so loved would be left out of the Kingdom!

  • Rebecca

    shame sorry…losing loved pets is hard.

  • Theresa

    I’m so sorry. It is like an ache that can’t be soothed.

  • Tim

    I am very sorry to hear about the family dog. About 5 years ago our family dog passed and it urt so bad. They become a huge part of our families, and their memories always seem to make us smile. Lots of prayers for you and your Tosha.

  • Jessica Gavin

    I am so sorry, Mo. This post breaks my heart. You’re in my prayers, friend! Heartbreaking. At least she lived a long happy life with a loving family. What more could a pup ask for?!!!

  • Jami

    Followed you from Pete Wilson’s blog. . . I think it was the name Tasha that got me. What a sweet post! As someone who knows the heartache of losing a pet, I pray for you and your family during this time. And like someone else said before me, how can something that brought so much love and joy be left out of the Kingdom? I anticipate seeing all of my critters there one day! She was one beautiful dog– that’s for sure. I have a border collie/St. Bernard mix. They do bring so much joy! She had a good life, and I trust she knows she was very much loved! Comfort and love to your family!

Leave a Reply

