I like Harry Potter, and Yes…. I’m still a believer!

I don’t usually entertain the complaints criticisms of others, cuz lets face it…. we don’t all agree on everything; but this one I’m going to address.

This past week I’ve made various Harry Potter references on fb, twitter, etc. in accordance to the movie coming out (which I did go see last night and loved!)  Because of that, I’ve received “I’m worried about you” notes, been quoted verses from the Bible, and “friendly” reminders of how believers shouldn’t partake in sorcery and witchcraft.

Let me just re-assure you:

I do not practice sorcery.

Let me also remind you that Harry Potter is FICTION!

Believe me, I understand that witchcraft and sorcery are real and serious issues that do exist…. I lived in an area of Africa where they still sacrificed children to the witchdoctor… so I’m not underestimating dark forces.  A few thoughts though:

1. Instead of judging and banning, like Christians tend to want to do, why can’t we use it as a learning tool?  For me, I’m pretty sure by age 35, I can differentiate between real and imaginary.  Maybe your ten year old cannot. So use this opportunity to explain the real issues behind the story.

2. Good versus evil.  If you haven’t read any of the books or haven’t seen the movies, then let me say this:  The underlining theme of the entire series is good versus evil.  Evil isn’t glorified.  Evil doesn’t prevail.  Evil is fought by good every step of the way. If anything, it teaches us to take a stand against evil… and if this doesn’t sound familiar, maybe you’ve heard of a little series called LORD OF THE RINGS.  (And I do recall it was written by a believer and the main Good Guy was a ….. wizard?!?)

3. Personally speaking, it does bother me when people try to make me feel like less of a believer because I enjoy reading these books.  I have devoted the last ten years of my life to mission work and serving God, yet people choose to dwell on this issue. Really?!?  I am on the front lines everyday.  I see evil every time I walk down my street , yet they still want to point out my lack of “Christian-ness” to me?  Everyone is entitled to like or dislike something.  Not everyone needs to love Harry Potter like I do.  Not everyone needs to agree with me on why I think the books are ok.  Even my own mom doesn’t like them at all (but I won’t hold that against you, mom. hehehehee)

That being said, I better get out my broomstick and fly away, cuz I’m sure I’ve offended some of you out there (and I’m sorry if I did).  Enjoy your week! 🙂

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

21 responses to “I like Harry Potter, and Yes…. I’m still a believer!

  • Matt Moline

    Harry Potter forever!!! This comment was made by another missionary, in case anyone was reading. 😉

    Havent seen the movie yet but I plan on it soon. Keep up the great work, from one mo to another!

  • Kat

    I absolutely agree, not that I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, but I do love fantasy books and many fantasy books deal with huge moral issues and the whole good vs. evil debate. Many make you consider your own worldview – many are even a retelling/shadowing of our own epic story with Christ. Not to mention that if you go around telling someone their favorite book is from the devil, you’re probably never going to get the chance to tell them about Jesus.

  • Tweets that mention I like Harry Potter, and Yes…. I’m still a believer! « Mo's Mission… -- Topsy.com

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Maureen Milham, Kat Robison. Kat Robison said: Great post! RT @moweezle I like Harry Potter, and Yes… I'm still a believer! (new post) http://ow.ly/3d8wX […]

  • Joseph

    You go Mo!

    First of all I love Potter because it was one of the best written book series in many years but more importantly, it got kids excited about reading again.

    Here is the underlying problem with people and Harry Potter and why people want to use it as a “witchcraft” weapon (totally just my thoughts and in my view). Mind that it is the same group of people who read and loved Lord of The Rings but I digress.

    People have stopped being “parents” and will look to use anything to babysit for them. The have kids but expect society to raise them. In turn, when their kids are not being or doing just as they like, they turn to the easy targets for blame. Potter is everywhere and kids love it, so it is one of the easiest targets out there. Coupled with the fact there is witchcraft fuels the debate.

    I also put some blame on those churches out there that fueled this. Some Pastors (not all, please don’t send me hate mail) can get congregations fired up over stuff that they should never be fired up over. Remember Disney back about 20 years ago? Everyone was supposed to boycot Disney. Potter is the same thing.

    So as I now lift the lid on my can of worms and crawl in said can of worms I finish with this.

    Drum roll please…..this might get me banned from Mo’s sight.

    Message to Parents who are Potter haters: Start being a parent and stop being ignorant and you just might find some things like Harry Potter are amazing and actually good for our kids. Message to Non Parent Potter Haters: If you don’t like it, don’t see it. Just stop being ignorant.

    Not to mention..the author of the book…was in bankruptcy and dirt poor when she started and it changed her life along with all the charitable foundations she has begun due to the proceeds.

    Sorry Mo, I need some Falafel now.

  • Michael Travis

    All I have to say is, I still support you and love you Maureen. Keep up the good work!

  • Andrew Ronzino

    Hello, I stumbled upon your blog from @ngie’s blog. And I must say, I agree with you 100%! Look at Narnia? The Jesus character in that story, Aslan, talked about magic and using magic, that those stories are blatantly Christian.

    The way I see it is that Harry Potter uses “Disney magic”. They wave a magic wand, say a few funny words, and something happens! It’s not “real world magic”.

    Not to mention, Harry Potter has a very positive story to tell, a very “Christ-like” story to tell, so to speak. I think Christians should practice discernment. If your spirit is telling you that you shouldn’t be reading/watching something, then don’t do it. But if not, what’s wrong with it?

    Now look at Twilight, there’s a book series that is telling these young girls that it’s okay to be in an abusive relationship just because the guy is “hot”…and dead. So, I ask you, what, as a whole, is more damaging to society? Harry Potter which is about love, friendship, and triumph over evil? Or Twilight which is about how to have an abusive boyfriend and getting yourself involved in a stupid love triangle?

    Sorry for the long post. By the way, the newest movie was wicked awesome! I loved it! 🙂

    Andrew Ronzino

    • moweezle

      I was actually just talking about the Narnia books the other day too and how they use tons of magic as well…. totally agree.

      On a side note: Are you Alece’s brother?

  • ksa

    The movie comes out in my city next weekend. Sadly it will all be in another language, but I am still planning on going to see it. After reading the above comments I am even more excited. My roommate and I are watching through the first six movies to get pumped up.

  • Jon Zondervan

    Is harry the werewolf or the vampire? Either way, I’m worried about you, I have a note for you, here’s a scripture for you (john 11:35) and I have a friendly reminder for you………..I’m kidding? Did I cover them all =)

  • pablo

    1)”good vs evil”, the truth is both are evil, white magic or black magic, which one is good?
    2)”fiction”, sorcery is not fiction, if you open your heart to that it could affect you, even at 35, in fact you are preaching Harry Potter here.
    3)you are 35 but most of the viewrs are kids, and they get a distorted concept of “good vs evil”.
    4)”evil isn´t glorified”; what about the witch harry? he is the “hero” the whitch.

    • moweezle

      Actually, Harry isn’t a witch at all, so I’m guessing you know nothing of the books..

      And you’re wrong about the age as well. Demographics show that most people who read Harry Potter are in the young adult range, from 19 up.

  • Pablo

    He is not a witch, he is wizard, sorry, I didn´t want to offend Harry, he is just a student at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.
    I imagine that the difference between “wizard and witch” must be something like “black magic o white magic” or things like that, that means there is no difference, they are in the same team.
    The book was made for children initially and Harry was a kid in the first movie (11); but some “adults” became “fans” too; but we have to remember that kids usually imitate their “idols”, even though “most ” readers could be 19 and up (according to your statistics) the influence in children is innegable; the book was published in 1997 , 13 years ago, some ppl grew up reading that, but the biggest impact is the movie.
    When you went to the cinema , what kind of ppl did you see adults or kids? remember that not only kids can be negatively influenced by the movie.
    “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”.

  • David Cook

    Sorcery and witchcraft:

    Maureen are you causing the little ones who believe in Jesus to stumble?

    6 my people are destroyed from lack of knowledge.
    “Because you have rejected knowledge,
    I also reject you as my priests;
    because you have ignored the law of your God,
    I also will ignore your children. Hosea 4:6 NIV

    What you don’t know and understand can hurt you with severe consequences.

    I have not read the book nor have viewed the movies. From watching the movie trailers it seems that Harry (the hero) is a student at a school of Witchcraft and Wizardry. It seems that the Harry Potter books and movies has brought sorcery and witchcraft into the minds and thoughts of many young ones around the world…are you overjoyed at this? Are you a defender and advocate for the Harry Potter Movies and the sorcery and witchcraft it promotes?!? Why are you excited and promoting a movie that teaches occult practices as a good thing?

    The goal or mission to instruct new generations in occult practices of sorcery and witchcraft is this God’s goal or the Devil’s mission?

    Maureen if you were instructing children regarding sorcery and witchcraft; what would you teach them? That in some instances, if good can be accomplished then the use of sorcery, spells, potions and witchcraft is a good thing? The end justifies the means? That “white magic” is good and “black magic” is evil? Or would you teach the children and parent s of children what God instructs His people in the Bible? Would you teach the children a Biblical perspective? Would you teach them a Christian worldview?

    What are God’s thoughts concerning sorcery and witchcraft? God speaks to us through His prophet Moses in the Bible in the book of Deuteronomy.
    9 When you enter the land the LORD your God is giving you, do not learn to imitate the detestable ways of the nations there. 10 Let no one be found among you who sacrifices their son or daughter in the fire, who practices divination or sorcery, interprets omens, engages in witchcraft, 11 or casts spells, or who is a medium or spiritist or who consults the dead. 12 Anyone who does these things is detestable to the LORD; because of these same detestable practices the LORD your God will drive out those nations before you. 13 You must be blameless before the LORD your God. Deuteronomy 18:9-13 NIV

    The word “detestable” is used three times in this scripture passage to describe God’s view of the practices of sacrificing their son or daughter in the fire, divination, sorcery, interprets omens, witchcraft, casting spells or is a medium who consults the dead.

    In the book of Acts followers of Messiah who had previously practiced the occult brought their books to a public place and burned them and renounced their involvement with the devil and sorcery and witchcraft. 19 A number who had practiced sorcery brought their scrolls together and burned them publicly. When they calculated the value of the scrolls, the total came to fifty thousand drachmas. Acts 19:19 NIV
    Sorcery is not something a follower of Christ should have any part of. Acts 8:9-24

    42 “If anyone causes one of these little ones—those who believe in me—to stumble, it would be better for them if a large millstone were hung around their neck and they were thrown into the sea. 43 If your hand causes you to stumble, cut it off. It is better for you to enter life maimed than with two hands to go into hell, where the fire never goes out. [44] 45 And if your foot causes you to stumble, cut it off. It is better for you to enter life crippled than to have two feet and be thrown into hell. [46] 47 And if your eye causes you to stumble, pluck it out. It is better for you to enter the kingdom of God with one eye than to have two eyes and be thrown into hell, 48 where
    “‘the worms that eat them do not die,
    and the fire is not quenched.’
    Mark 9:42 NIV

  • Joseph

    OK…wow…people are you getting way out here on a limb based on watching trailers and or never reading the books.

    I attend church, as many of us do, with PILES of students in our student ministry. By piles I see between the two churches, 500+. All of them read, like and watch Potter. Or at least a large percentage. Oh yeah, they listen to music too!

    I have yet to hear, however, of a single instance where one of them said “Hey, this Jesus thing ain’t working out so I think I will see if I can enroll in Hogwarts”. And I am pretty sure that our youth minister would be freaking out if it did happen.

    Our kids and young adult family members are a product of what “WE” teach and instill in them. If we do it in a manner which lets them know that this is all fun and make believe than there is no harm. It is good entertainment. If we also instill in them the principals of the bible, well guess what???? they get the principals of the bible. We are the parents and guidance here.

    Not to turn Mo’s blog into a battle field here but please use some common sense and fight an argument worth fighting. For Pete’s sake, there are a lot bigger battles out there than this. Starvation, homelessness etc.

    Potter is nothing more than a character in a book that became a movie….much like Mickey Mouse and the “Magic” of Disney.

    I think we need to stop looking for excuses why people fail to follow Jesus and start taking the steps to help them to follow. Pointing a finger at a movie, a blogger etc. doesn’t do so. It helps make the point to non-believers that some of us Christians are crazy. Who knows, I might be one of them 🙂

    I am probably falling off base here so I will stop now.

    Mo, my apologies for ranting on your blog…please don’t banish me 🙂

    Those who throw stones should duck however as to not get hit in the head on the ricochet.

    Mo, you are an amazing leader and model in what you do. You have done far more than most any of us have or ever will including those who love to take jabs…keep it up! And you need a little rest and relaxation at the movies with a little Potter, go for it. I think you are strong enough and have enough common sense now to determine that it is make believe.

Leave a Reply

