My phone call with ‘T’

If you’ve been following along on my blog, you might recall me writing about my friend, T.  If you haven’t, or you need a refresher, here’s a quick reminder: (everyday miracles)

It’s been a YEAR since that last post (WoW), and this phone call was the perfect time to UPDATE

T is was homeless.  He’s an alcoholic.  I’ve known him since I moved to Israel 2 1/2 years ago, and it’s been an emotional rollercoaster ride with him since that first day.  He’s been in and out of rehabs at least 4 times since then, and that is only in the short time I’ve known him.

Last year at this time he was in rehab and doing well…. but it ended soon enough.  A few months later he was out and living back on the streets of Tel Aviv.

Fast forward to about 4 months ago, when he had pretty much hit rock bottom (again), and was rescued by the Grace of God once more.  A dentist friend had pulled him in, gave him a place to stay, and found him a job on a kibbutz in the north.

And I’m so happy to say that T went.

When I got back to Israel after my furlough in the states, I had 4 voicemail messages waiting from him. I was a bit anxious to hear the news… was he back on the streets? was he ok?

So, as I called him this morning to check up on him, I wasn’t sure what I would find… but I found him to be HAPPY! (His exact word, which I have never heard him use before.)  He wasn’t aware that I had been in the States, so he said he was worried about me, not answering my phone 🙂

He is working, paying rent for his place on the kibbutz, reading his Bible (he made sure I knew that it was sitting right beside him during our conversation) and taking life one day at a time.

I know I’ve said it before a FEW times, but I’ll say it again and again…. this is what it’s all about! This is why we are ALL called to a life of loving and giving to others.  LIVES RADICALLY CHANGED!

One day at a time…..

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

4 responses to “My phone call with ‘T’

Leave a Reply

