750 minutes

As I was sitting on the bus this morning (Bus 27 be exact) I figured out how many minutes I actually spend on this bus weekly: 750.

For all you mathematician’s out there, that equals 12.5 hours a week.

50 hours (3,000 minutes) a month.

200 hours (12,000 minutes) a semester.

That’s A LOT of wasted time.

Just sayin’

(So tell me… how much time to you spend in transit to your job/school/etc.?  Any empathizers out there?)

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

9 responses to “750 minutes

  • Mom

    Usually about 3 hours a week. Guess I can’t complain. And no traffic lights at all!! But a dead deer in the middle of the road yesterday.
    PS – It’s wasted not waisted unless you’re talking about around the middle. Sorry, just had to point that out. It’s what we do for each other. 🙂

  • Joseph DuLaney

    Holy Falafel that is a lot of time on a bus.

    Mine really really varies as I do not go to an office but I do visit clients and depending where they are in the state, my commute can be long or short. That combined with the fact I office from my home really cuts the whole commuting thing to a nil statement.

    The other thing I have in advantage is that I can stop at all the Starbucks in route. Amazing how my car just knows when to exit 🙂

  • ksa

    My move this past year, put me in the 5 min walking distance from home to office. It is a pretty sweet deal.

  • mandythompson

    Oh you’re not going to like my answer. I’m in the car for 25 mins max, round trip, to work… If I don’t catch the lights (like Sunday mornings) I can make it there in 7 mins. Sorry.

  • gregory

    I have learned to find these down times very enriching as I meet people on level ground. It allows for interaction that I cannot possibly conjure up on my own. When I was home in Chicago couple years ago I found myself waiting in bitter cold at bus stop after a special trip to al-khyam bakery for fresh cheese flat bread. I noticed his bag from the store and struck up a conversation about how good the bread was and how I come there whenever I am in town. His accent gave him away, so asked about his homeland. This older gentleman said he was from babylonia. I asked about his life and he shared openly. We talked for maybe 15 minutes shivering. Bus comes, we get on and take separate seats. 10 minutes late his stop comes and he gets up and walks to toward the door. On his way he stops and smiles at me and we bid each other farewell. He then reaches into his bag and gives me a package of fresh pita! I thank him and he gets off the bus. I am brought to tears. This was fellowship of the divine kind. At a bus stop. Shivering. Have not been the same since. Have had many wonderful encounters at transit stops. Some not so wonderful, but I love them all the same. I hear you though! It does seem like a waste.

Leave a Reply

