What if?!?

I was looking at some pictures from a trip to Arizona a friend had recently took; and as I was scrolling through them, I briefly thought,

What if?

It wasn’t a “what if” that makes you long for the past or wish things would have turned out different, it was just a simple-let-my-mind-wander-to-the-scenario of, “what if“.

Growing up in Michigan, I always aspired to go somewhere warmer.  I knew I didn’t want to stay in Michigan for college, so I began looking at possibilites. I chose Arizona State University.

While I was there, I honestly thought I would spend the rest of my life in Scottsdale.  Get married. Have a cute little family. Live in North Scottsdale in the school district where I was teaching.

But God had other plans. BIGGER plans. BETTER plans.

My “what if” scenario looked very different than what my real life has become…and I honestly couldn’t even imagine my life if my “what if” had turned out to have been my “what is“.

No, I’m not married. No, I don’t have a cute little family. No, I’m not teaching anymore.

BUT, I have Brasil. I have Africa. I have Israel. I have all the people in my life that I would have never known and loved had I never left Scottsdale.

And in a strange way, I DID end up living in the desert…. just on the other side of the world.

What if?!?

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

9 responses to “What if?!?

  • David Cook

    For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

  • Katy

    ah! those what if moments get me and they are both so ponderous and yet it’s like just have to keep on reminding what God has given and there is so much that He gives!

  • Joseph

    It is crazy how a decision here or there completely changes the trajectory of your life and also gets you where you ultimately need to be.

    I play the what if game now and then for fun but I really never come up with where it would have led me…because I do not know what the ultimate outcome would have been.

    • moweezle

      so crazy! show’s us how important it is for us to be making good decisions. And you’re right about the second part… we don’t know what the final outcome would have been, we just know if would have been different.

  • Kat

    I love this. Myself, I’m no longer a “what if” person – I’m a “what’s next” person. I never expected half the things that have happened in my life but they’ve brought me to where I am now and I couldn’t be more grateful. Now I’m just always looking forward to the next adventure 🙂

  • Brian

    You will never know, this side of heaven, the lives you have touch for the Kingdom of God. There have been times I have asked God why He me had me where I was, like driving a truck. Then He would peal back the veil for a moment and show me a life that was changed or a missionary that was on the field because I was right where the Lord wanted me, even when I thought He was not using me.

    You are exactly where He wants you, and there is nothing more fulfilling than that.

  • Andrea

    Girl, I relate so much to having those “What if?” moments…and then quickly thanking God that His plans didn’t follow mine. My life has been infinitely better, filled with more blessings, adventures, and God-stories than I ever could have imagined.
    I like that “What’s Next” life slogan, too. I think I steal that one! 😉

Leave a Reply

