It’s not about you.

I had a bit of a wake up call last night.

I was watching Secret Millionaire online (if you haven’t seen it, it’s a great show… cried through most of it) when the call came. It was from HIM.

You see…. I’ve been frustrated. Being called to missions in a foreign place isn’t always a cup of tea, but sometimes we add our own problems and issues on top of that.  I’ve been trying to set up a “presence” for Shine to build up supporters.  Facebook. Twitter. Blog. etc etc etc.

And I guess if I’m going to be honest, I’ve been disappointed.  Not only disappointed in the lack of response, but disappointed in myself. I’ve been caught up with the newsletters, support, finances, updates… things that we think we need to focus on; but really they should only be add-on’s to our mission.

But it wasn’t until last night that I realized what I was doing.  The “secret millionaire” went undercover to volunteer with non-profits to see where the real need was, and surprised them in the end with a huge check.  It wasn’t the huge check that got my attention, it was the org’s.  All of them were small, and unknown (except within their community).  They weren’t worried about who knew what they were doing or what publicity they were receiving…. they were concerned about the people they were helping.

And it hit me like a ton of bricks.

It’s not about me. It’s not about you. It’s about them.

And while I adore all of you, I won’t be trying to gain your praises any time soon.  I’m re-focusing my attention on them…. (and I’m still hoping one day you’ll join me) 🙂

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

14 responses to “It’s not about you.

  • Joseph DuLaney

    Good good good good good. Did I say Good?

    You are right, it is about others yet we wander around this life worried about the next car we are going to buy, house we are going to own, clothes, shoes yada yada yada… when in the end we really do not need near what we are buying and could really shift some focus to others.

    Now that said…it is about them but because you are a missionary there is a component that does lend it towards your church and donors as well. Here it is. Ready?

    Missionaries are there to help inspire us to do more. By keeping in contact with us, letting us know what you are doing etc, you inspire the rest of us to do more for others. So please don’t discount your contact and time that is directed to telling about your missions….it is paying off, just not necessarily in the ways you might be thinking.

    Keep up the awesomeness MO!

  • @ngie

    This is an issue I struggle with regularly. Thanks for being bold and putting the truth up there.

  • ksa

    You are right in saying it is not about you and it is not about me, but the truth is it is not really about them either. It is all about HIM.

  • jeofurry

    I clicked through to your site from a comment you left at Alece’s blog. This post was so on target for me and just the thing I needed to hear. As a pastor, I find myself struggling with the same thing many times, and it is so easy to fall into that pattern of “listening for praise.” I will be praying for you in your ministry in Israel. Shalom.

  • Crystal Rodli

    Hi there Mo. First time here. Good stuff.
    I think anyone who is passionate about serving people either wants to reach more people or inspire others to reach out too. But once we start down the road of “creating awareness” it is so easy to get stuck there–and even get our identity wrapped up in how people respond. I don’t know how many times I’ve had to repent of this.
    It’s always good to be reminded that it’s not the point(and a little comforting to know I’m not the only one who does this). Thanks for sharing your heart! 🙂

  • Deborah

    Hi! Just came across your blog. I picked today to eat one bowl of rice. Just to see what children around the world go through. I am hungry! And googling, and I came across your post from last summer where you did this for a week! But I can’t seem to figure out how to find your posts during that week. How did it go? I commend you for doing that, I’m going to blog about just my one day rice fast…

  • הילה

    what an amazing revelation and so true!!!!! how come we get this stuff so twisted always?? thank God that He is so good and reveals us the right way of things. (and btw i have to say that i SO love that tv show 🙂 it makes me cry every time!)

  • Mom

    Hey, I missed this blog. I guess I usually “catch” them from FB. Again it’s about motivation of the heart and balance (as in Joseph’s good advice about inspiring others through the newsletters, etc).
    We can’t even imagine all the charitable deeds being done for others that no one hears about. But God knows exactly and the
    reward ceremony in heaven is going to reveal some of them in a shocking way to many of us.
    I shared with you about the documentary on 60 Minutes. There was another story also about a BB coach at an inner city Catholic school. His teams have won many National championships but it was more about how he has been at that school so many years and what he and his wife (team stats) have given to the program and kids. He runs youth camps to teach BB and donate proceeds to the school. He’s been offered many other positions but feels called to stay where he’s at. His 2 sons played BB under him and they’re now coaching also. The principal at the school agreed that the school would not still be going if not for his generosity. And this was an old school building with no fancy gym accomodations. It was a great story and you could see how humble he is about it.

  • Alece

    wow, girl. this is so good. i love your heart… a lot.

  • think about it tuesday « B'ahava

    […] *They weren’t worried about who knew what they were doing or what publicity they were receiving…. they were concerned about the people they were helping….. -Mo […]

Leave a Reply

