Dreamland

Last night was the first time I’ve ever dreamt IN HEBREW!

You see, I’ve always had this theory that you are really finally THERE with a language when you start dreaming in it. Β I’m not saying that I’m 100% THERE with Hebrew (cuz I don’t know if I’ll ever be there), but it does mean I must be getting closer.

I still remember the first time I dreamt in Portuguese, which was a monumental moment for me, and I do still dream in my love language once in a while.

I might not ace my Hebrew tests, but at least I can have a conversation in my head at night…. how can they compare!?! LOL

unbeknownst to me... while you were sleeping!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

10 responses to “Dreamland

  • @ngie

    This is HUGE Maureen! Congratulations lady πŸ™‚

  • Joseph DuLaney

    I know the neuroscience that is actually behind this…no, really I do.
    Good news, your second language is crossing its common sounds and patterns with your native language. Think of it as a Venn Diagram.
    Your native language imprints in one place on the brain. If you study language at a very young age, the area grows and is intermixed and share more common places in the brain thus making it easier to learn two languages.
    If you learn a language later in life however, the languages take up two separate places in the brain next to each other. At some point though, those places that are developed in the brain will touch and overlap with commonalities. Could be a similar sound to one of our phonemes etc. but the repetition of learning languages does that in the brain.
    All that mumbo jumbo said, when you start getting the overlap and commonality, you can start fully thinking and or, in your case, dreaming in other languages. You brain is picking which one it wants to be today πŸ™‚

    Even better news is that your probably at the point from a brain perspective, that language will be come inherently easier going forward since you have the relationships build.

    Whew. I don’t think I have ever been able to share my career knowledge on a blog before…cool.

    If you want all the technical terms of this, I can send them but I cannot pronounce most of them πŸ™‚

    I could send Mri scans of what this looks like though…I have lots of those!

    All that to say, Did you dream of Falafel? Is it still pronounced Falalfel in Hebrew?

    • moweezle

      wow! Now that IS a lot of info! Question though… what happens when this is actually my 4th language and the 5th is making its way in there too? Do I have 5 separate Venn Diagrams circulating all around my brain??? No wonder I have some weirdly, intense dreams!!!

      And, no… no falalfel this time around, but I’ll keep trying πŸ™‚

  • Joseph

    Actually same venn. Just linking commonalities.

    What you may find is that Hebrew is becoming dominant depending on the other languages and what links they share to english.

    Plus you with multiple venn diagrams in your head would be way too much to handle. Kinda like the Matrix πŸ™‚

    BTW. 5 languages? That is just unnatural.

    • moweezle

      I like the thought of a mini-matrix in my head :)! 5 languages is what I feel comfortable in. I could say 7 cuz I can understand Italian and French if I hear it, but not fluently and I don’t speak either of them well at all without converting back to Portuguese and Spanish, so I only claim 5. Maybe one day though πŸ™‚

  • Joseph

    Dropping my inner geek mode now.

    Although, word of warning. If you begin dreaming about marshmellows and candy canes you are in serious trouble πŸ™‚

  • ksa

    I still remember very clearly everyone of my dreams in a new study language. I had a Hebrew one back in Book school, although trust me I was light years from fluency. My first dream in Uyghur is the best of all of them.

    Here’s wishing you sweet dreams in any and all languages.

  • Lisa Richards

    So very cool! I know about four words in Hebrew. I guess it’ll be a while…

Leave a Reply

