I’m here.

To say that I’ve been frustrated and stressed lately is an understatement. There are moments when I just want to give up… to forget about Hebrew and Arabic… to try to find another way… but I know this is not an option for me right now.

For some reason it’s really been building up, and I’ve been so overwhelmed with it all.  Over our 2 week Pesach break, I was able to relax and devote all my extra time with ministry, which probably made my recent distaste for language studying escalate even more.

I’ve found in my life that when I’m discouraged and frustrated God has a way of putting little bits and pieces of comfort in my path.  

Today in Hebrew class we were discussing the idea of learning languages at a young age.  Our teacher then asked us how many years each of us have been learning Hebrew, to which I was a bit shocked at the answers.

I have been studying Hebrew for 2 years now… 2 LONG years; but out of everyone in my class I’ve been studying Hebrew the least amount of years. There are kids in my class who have been studying 4-10 years, and many of them have grown up in Jewish families, hearing Hebrew spoken all their lives.

I had a similar experience in Arabic class yesterday.  One of the girls in my class told me she’s been studying Arabic for 5 years now! 5 years! Me??? One.

As I sat there listening to the numbers I just thought, “What the heck am I doing in these classes with these groups?  No wonder I’m beyond stressed and mentally exhausted every night. No wonder why my mother is sick of hearing my cries every weekend…”

And then I thought of it in a new light.  Here I am, sitting in class, at the same level as these kids who have been around Hebrew their entire lives. Here I am sitting in Arabic class, reading and writing text, and just a year ago I couldn’t even recognize letters.  I might not get the highest grades on my tests or read at the same fluency as others, but I’M HERE!

I made it this far, so I might as well suck it up and keep on trekking.

Yes, I’m still frustrated…

Yes, I’m still stressed…

Yes, I’m still mentally exhausted……..

But, I’m Here!  And just that is encouragement for me today.

** Could you just say a little prayer for me this week (well, month for that matter)??? I’m really needing them! Thanks, bloggy friends!!!

About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

8 responses to “I’m here.

  • Katy

    that really put some perspective on things on how long it takes to learn them! glad you’re still there and still pressing on even though it’s hard! praying for you =)

  • Lexi MacKinnon

    Will be praying for you girl… learning languages is always so hard, but keep at it and it will eventually get easier! Just think…it’s such a testimony to God that you have been able to move so fast already! =D

  • tamar

    I hear you, sister! I gave up on learning Arabic the conventional (formal classes) way. I thought with my fluent Hebrew, the cognates would ease me into this cousin language. WRONG. Regarding your upbeat conclusion, “I’m here!” I love it. This idea is the refrain of the Jewish Partisans (Jewish resistance movement against Nazi Germany and its collaborators during World War II) anthem we sing today, Holocaust (Shoah) Remembrance Day.

    “…Never say this is the final road for you,
    Though leaden skies may cover over days of blue.
    As the hour that we longed for is so near,
    Our step beats out the message: we are here!…”

    (Lyrics: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zog_Nit_Keynmol)

  • Mom

    You are here (there) and have done an amazing job in the 2 years that you have been there!! Glad to hear that you are able to see it from a different prospects. Keep pressing in with your eyes on the goal and the prize (which is not grades!!).
    Love you!!
    Mom

  • Katie

    Um…I haven’t gotten past basic greetings in any African language in 3+ years, so you’ve definitely got me beat! I’m encouraged by you and your dedication. Really, you’re an inspiration 🙂

  • Joseph DuLaney

    You rock Mo! Keep it up!!!

    Not like you care about the next paragraph but hey…
    Cool news about your language acquisition. All the languages you are learning are what are called Transparent Languages which means they have consistent sounds for the symbols that represent them. Once you have a basis, which you do with all the other stinkin languages you know,geesh, your brain is adapted to keep on learning Transparent languages. English however is not transparent, so every once and a while, the ole brain kicks out some frustration 🙂 to say, “Yo, what you doing to me?” because your newer languages are creeping into the space occupied by English. Don’t worry, it won’t evict it.

    A little bit of Neuroscience that really has not bearing on anything except to say….KEEP GOING! You are way ahead of the curve sister.

    And now that I look back I am not sure that had anything to do with what you are talking about…kind of like Falafel.

    And cry once and a while…that is why the rest of us are here!

  • chrystiecole

    You continue to amaze me, Mo! I will be praying for your continued encouragement, rest, peace, and joy!

  • Rebecca

    Mo, you are totally amazing, well done! I’m proud of you and all your hard work. I’ll be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

