Our Generation

I was skyping the other day with my childhood friend, Jodi, who just had her first baby… which led us to the topic of raising children… which led us to reminiscing about our childhood.

We both agree that we were soooo lucky to have been born when we were, still the “simpler” times, but leading into the “technology” era. Kids today have NOOOO idea what it was like without cell phones, email, SMS-ing, X-Box.. etc.  And while all those things have made our lives a bit easier (and lazier) we couldn’t resist wishing that our children could experience childhood as we did:

  • When EVERY kid either walked to school or rode a bus… no parents driving them to and from school.
  • Running home after school to ride bikes with your friends around the neighborhood and play kickball in the yard, until you knew it was time to come home for dinner.
  • Rollerskating in the garage, pretending to be at a roller rink, with music booming from a boombox the size of a tire.
  • Spending your Friday night at the actual Roller Rink.
  • Making tents in the backyard out of blankets draped over the clothesline.
  • SPUD. (if you don’t know that game, you definitely didn’t grow up in my generation)
  • Spending 2 hours of your night out, driving around looking for your friends, because there was no way to contact them once your left the house. (but having a blast while you did it!)
While I could go on and on with my memories, the point is that even though we are only one generation away, we are truly WORLDS away… and while technology is a great thing, and I LOVE it, I also long for the simpler days of the past as well… when we got all our exercise from just living and being kids! 
Here I am feeding the ducks in the park with my dad (who will just LOVE that I posted this pic!), my grandma, and my aunt. (Or are we being attacked by them?!?)
Any special childhood memories of the simple times??? 
About Maureen Hochdorf

Writer. Editor. High Techi. Non-Profit Founder. Traveler. Sports Lover. Star Wars Fanatic. Tel Aviver. Michigander.... View all posts by Maureen Hochdorf

9 responses to “Our Generation

  • Lisa Richards

    LOL! Yes, your dad WILL love that you posted that pic! I was probably your aunt’s age at that time in history. When I was smaller things were even simpler, and I agree wholeheartedly with you. I think kids are missing something these days. I use some technology and it makes me feel safer to have a cell phone with me, but technology has removed us a little from “real life”! My favorite memory is riding my little horse around our small town and just being able to safely play outdoors all day. 🙂

  • @ngie

    Real toys… not just ones based on a show or movie. Board and card games. Lemonade stands. Good times…

  • Joseph DuLaney

    Nice socks dad.

    I love this post and I think you really hit on something.

    We always push for wanting more, faster and better when sometimes the simple time is what is most important.

    I have no idea what Spud is but I did have a Spud gun. (not sure revealing this on this blog will generate any calls from the FBI..best be careful 🙂 )

  • Hannah Young

    I think the Oregon Trail computer game might have been the single most important contribution of our generation. I’m just sayin’…

  • Dad

    This was during my soccer training days at John Wesley College in Owosso, Mi. The red shoes I bought in NYC..Converse Allstars…at least I was color coordinated…Oh btw…please destroy this picture 🙂 haha

  • pablo

    I had a walkie-talkie, that counts as a cell phone.

Leave a Reply

